Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,027
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Press for current HDG/CRS

    Is there a way to program a rotary encoder with a push function to jump the heading or course bug from any position to the current heading (push to reset?) ? Would this require the PM MCP software?

    Thanks,
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,887
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I don't see why you couldn't program the switch to do that. The command is available in FS and FSUIPC.

    I used it myself for awhile. Upon departure, the CDI is always set for the first course intercept and the heading bug is set for the initial heading turn after lift-off.

    I used to have it programmed to have the heading bug jump to the current course selected before engaging the heading hold funtion on the AP. I stopped using it after a few flights as I wasn't always flying the CDI course, but sometimes an ADF course waiting for a course intercept from the CDI.

    I now use the heading control manually.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,027
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks, do you know what it's called btw in fsuipc?
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,887
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Heading bug select I think, but don't quote me on it.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I hope this helps. Here is some chopped up code using simconnect for heading bug sync. Works for me but this is just a few cut and paste parts myh complete code is for the complete G1000 functionality. I forgot about the Course sync, I will have to add that funtionality to my code, thanks.

    hr = SimConnect_MapClientEventToSimEvent(hSimConnect, f, "Heading_bug_set");

    hr = SimConnect_AddToDataDefinition(hSimConnect, DEFINITION_READ, "Plan Heading Degrees Gyro", "Degrees");

    hr = SimConnect_RequestDataOnSimObject(hSimConnect, REQUEST_READ, DEFINITION_READ, SIMCONNECT_SIMOBJECT_TYPE_USER, SIMCONNECT_PERIOD_SIM_FRAME, SIMCONNECT_DATA_REQUEST_FLAG_CHANGED);

    hr = SimConnect_GetNextDispatch(hSimConnect, &pData, &cbData);

    case REQUEST_HEADING:
    DWORD ObjectID = pObjData->dwObjectID;
    Struct2 *pS = (Struct2*)&pObjData->dwData;
    hr = SimConnect_TransmitClientEvent(hSimConnect, INPUT0, f, pS->headingn, SIMCONNECT_GROUP_PRIORITY_HIGHEST, SIMCONNECT_EVENT_FLAG_GROUPID_IS_PRIORITY);

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,887
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It's really not all that complex. It's a simple keystroke command that can be assigned in FSUIPC or FS itself using a pushbutton switch.

    As I wrote earlier, it does have its uses, but it can be tricky if you're not watching what you're doing while navigating.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Similar Threads

  1. How much current/power though a specific cable??
    By capetonian in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-23-2010, 07:34 PM
  2. Current status of my pit
    By JBaymore in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-25-2009, 07:21 PM
  3. Led current calculation
    By cesarfsim in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-01-2008, 11:12 AM