75+ Posting Member
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Help choosing outside visual system please

Hello, I'm totally new to this.

I am trying to learn about options for building a visual system for an enclosed cockpit setup. I fly mostly il2 and fsx. I have had a hard time finding info on this aspect of cockpit building. Here are the major options as I understand them.

1. Use a projector. Park cockpit in front of big screen = immersion. Works with all flight sims. Later add Matrox triple head and 2 more projectors after a couple tax returns. Any good projector recommendations?

2. Use multiple GPU's and surround myself with monitors. I have found a good set of plans that details using 4 gpu's to run 8 monitors. The problem is the plans use pci based gpu's. I would like to use a similar setup with pci-e based gpu's but cannot find out how to do with. Is it possible to run 3 pci-e based gpus in non sli mode. Here are the plans that got me all excited. http://www.fspilotshop.com/product_i...oducts_id=1204

Another idea is to use a 7800GTX and an 8800 GT to run 4 montiors. My mobo is SLI capable, but of course, I wouldn't be running them in SLI. My understanding of this setup is that one card does the actual rendering while the other supports the other 2 monitors. Would it be possible to throw in another PCI card for 2 more monitors? What would this do to my frame rates.
    I already have the PC and GPU's to do this.

3. I'm not wild about networking multiple pc's, but I do have an extra decent pc to work with.

Thanks for the help. I realize this is a very big question.

Boeing 777 Builder

Hi Orwell and welcome.

Yes this is a big question and you'll probably get a lot of different answers as to what works best, just as there are lot of opinions as to which aircraft is best. In the end it will come down to your personal preference.