10+ Posting Member
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

New Source for MasterCard-Compatible Rotary Encoder

X-Posted this on the OC forum:

Just getting started with IOcards and came across some rotary encoders on eBay from a seller / manufacturer called "sureelectronics" from Hong Kong / China. (Just search for "rotary encoder". Their internal part number is CS-CO043. And no, I am not affiliated with them. I'm just a new mini-cockpit builder.)

These are 2-bit Gray rotary encoders with a push-button SPST switch. The price was US$9.99 (+ US$6 shipping) for a box of 10 encoders with Gray Knobs included. (Knobs alone can cost that much.)

(I tried asking about the number of cycles per revolution and the number of detents but I never received a reply from them so it was a bit of a gamble to see if they would work on the Mastercard directly.)

After about 2 weeks, they arrived in the post today in a very well packaged styro foam and cardboard box.

After finally getting my MasterCard working, I hooked up one of these rotaries on a breadboard and they seem to work very well directly attached to the MC. I'm too cheap to buy concentric rotaries so I think I will simulate one by using the push-button to toggle between "outer" and "inner" rotary. (I will post updates if I encounter any problems.)

300+ Forum Addict

These are the same rotary encoders I used for my radio head project here: http://www.mikesflightdeck.com/old_stuff_3.htm scroll down to 15 March 2007. Seem to work just fine.

150+ Forum Groupie

They looked pretty good and the price was right,, so I ordered some as well.

10+ Posting Member