Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Where to start building a cockpit...

These are some questions I found at the avsim.com forum.
    >1. How much would it cost me to build a DC-9 cockpit ?
    >2. Where do you buy parts for these masterpieces ?
    >3. How do you do it ???? I know I'm a complete noob.
    >4. Does it work with FS2004 ?
    >5. Do you need any special software to make it work with FS9 ?
    >6. If I built a DC-9 cockpit how do I connect it to FS9 and how do I use it with FS9 ?
    >7. Do I need payware DC-9 software ?? Something like the F1 Iron Knuckles DC9 ?
    As I spent quite some time writing my answers, I want to share my story at IFSBI as well so other "new/potential" builders can take away what they need.
    Kester

Hi,
    I'll try to give a little bit of an answer. I' started about a year ago to build a 737 cocpit, so my experiences are limited...
    I will give you my personal views and choices, so please first also ask other builders before you decide to spend any money.

>1. How much would it cost me to build a DC-9 cockpit ?

This depends fully on the availability of ready made DC9 components, and your ambition and your financial resources. I suspect for a DC9 you will have to construct most parts yourself or modify existing hardware. Instead of giving you a final cost estimate (if possible anyway) I would suggest that you take this as a multi year project and assign an amount of money you want to spend every year. Talking to cockpit builders who have been there a long time, they tell me it is never finished and they keep adding stuff to enhance the realism.

To give you some indication: