10+ Posting Member
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Which motion cues to simulate ?

Hi guys,

Since it's my first time at this, I'd like your views on which motion cues to simulate. Obviously the more axis the better but I want to know if some cues are either not possible with 2 axis or don't add much to the realism.

At this point I have coded and partially tested the following cues. I have a 2 axis platform and I'm using a washout algorithm. I decide to move the platform on the basis of changes in some parameters. For example, a very small variation of the pitch will not move the platform at all but a moderate one will. The platform returns to center when the variation of a parameter becomes below a certain theshold.

Cues I simulate on the ground.
    ---------------------------------------------

(After each cues the platform returns back to center (washout))

- When the engine starts so does the vibration (I plan to use a bass shaker).

-Pushing the throttle forward pitches up the platform. If the throttle is above 90% and stays there for 7 seconds (arbitrary number) I assume it is a taking off so I force a washout the platform to prepare for takeoff rotation.

- using the brakes pitches down the platform (slightly).

-Turning left while taxiing rolls (slightly) the platform to the right and vice versa.

-Touching down on the ground (landing) will roll the platform left or right (slightly) depending on the attitude of the plane just before touching the ground.

Cues I simulate in the air.
    -------------------------------------

After each cue, the platform returns to an offset position then to center. This idea comes from Roland at http://www.simprojects.nl/