• Builder of the Month - September 2010

Hi all, as usual our monthly builder of the month who we feel has excelled in simbuilding this month. This month's award goes to Spiros, who is building an Airbus flight simulator. We asked spiros some questions to help us get a greater insight into whats behind a great looking flight simulator.

Congratulations on the award.

Please tell us about yourself and how you came into simbuilding

I live in Greece on a island named Kefalonia (LGKF) ionion sea, i am a auto electrician and have my own garage(workshop), I as many of us wanted to become an airline pilot but the only thing keeping me back was the money part!! I got my PPL and was going to start IR, MEP but is on hold at the moment. I found Mycockpit.org when i started to build an IR trainer to help me out, living on a Greek Island
    there are no pilots schools here so i decided to do distance learning and needed a sim to practice basic procedures. I was searching the internet on simulators and first came up Mycockpit so i became a member that was before i whent with the IR/MEP. It was amazing to see so many people sharing and helping others over this pasion of flying, my pasion was the 747-200 which i did start to build but then stoped for the IR/MEP and now i am building the A320 its a long story WHY????????

Question 1: How long have you been building?

I think i started building in jannuary 2009 with the 747 and stoped for IR/MEP and started the airbus oct 2009 with a friend that saw my cockpit and fell in love with building a home sim, i was clearly going to help him with his english as he does not write or speak after some time he decided to quit so i was left with it!!!!!

Question 2: Do you find it easy to source parts to your location

Well, if it was not for the internet i would properly not even know home sim building existed. You can not find many things in Greece for sim building.