PDA

View Full Version : Stick Shaker

Twizzstyle
05-02-2007, 04:58 PM
Hi there-

I have been building a 737ng simulator for a few months now. I really want to add a stick shaker, but I really have no idea where to begin. I've done quite a bit of searching online, but no real info.

Basically I need something that, when Flight Sim (using MS Flight Sim X) activates stick shaker (or whatever stall warning), "something" will turn on a motor with an offset weight... seems simple enough to me. But it is the "something" that I'm lost on.

I have looked at "Phidgets" online, does anybody have any experience with that? I also see "Epic" used...

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I am new to this board, so I will try to get some photos of my flight deck up soon.

Bob Reed
05-02-2007, 05:08 PM
Good day Twizz and WELCOME TO THE NIGHTMARE!!! Well the dreaded IO interface question! It is all going to depend on what else you want your interface to do. I would think FDT boards would be a good choice and Phidgets would be another. It really does depend what else you want them to do that I would make a suggestion on which one. Now I use EPIC in my cockpit.... But, that is another story.

Twizzstyle
05-02-2007, 06:02 PM
For now, I want it for stick shaker only. Maybe if there's room to grow on it I'll do something else WAY down the line, but its primary function is stick shaker.

I already have my throttles and MCP (GoFlight), and I don't plan on running any other switches or displays.

wollo
05-02-2007, 06:06 PM
I think you could use IOcards and maybe a relay card to switch current to whatever motor you desire. I'm Just getting into this now so I couldn't say about the programming side but I'm sure someone else will help out there.
Bill

Trevor Hale
05-02-2007, 06:47 PM
For now, I want it for stick shaker only. Maybe if there's room to grow on it I'll do something else WAY down the line, but its primary function is stick shaker.