PDA

View Full Version : Fabricate panels with a LASER

GoingForGold
09-16-2015, 05:12 PM
Hi there!
I'm pretty new to this cockpit building thing and I'm still planning my cockpit. At the moment I'm thinking about how to make the panels. I'm lucky to have access to a 40W CO2 LASER and a 3D printer. However, I 'm not sure how to make nice, backlightable panels with the LASER. because I'm not experienced with this piece of equipment.
1. Since it should be backlighted, its pretty clear that I have to use acrylic. But clear acrylic with a thin white coat of color, or white acrylic, or...?
2. How do I make the text etc. visible? Can I "laser-away" the greyish-blue color? Or can I apply a masking, laser the text and spray the rest with the greyish color? or...

Thank you for all ideas!

SimSupervisor
09-16-2015, 10:24 PM
Paint acrylic, then etch it with LASER.

hyamesto
09-17-2015, 01:15 AM
Paint acrylic, then etch it with LASER.

I can add the following advice:
Find an acrylic vendor, talk about your necessity, and question him about the best-type acrylic for your project. There are clear acrylic, but some are translucent (like "frosted glass") maybe better to diffuse the light, or semi-translucent white too.
There are too, 2 layers acrylic, (example: black on front, with white underside. When you etch it with laser, the white part is visible over the black part.
Maybe you can find a Black or grey/transparent 2 layers, ready to etch, and you can forget the paint.
If you are a fanatic of type "No, i want the real panel colour..." , you can use vinyl mask (cut with the laser too) but you need first make the complete cut of the piece in transparent or translucent acrylic, stick the mask, paint and retire the mask, but sometimes, if the mask is not applied correctly and you are late to retire it, some of the paint will go with the mask too, or the paint will go inside the mask.

Regards.
Horacio.

GoingForGold
11-21-2015, 05:16 PM
Hi!