PDA

View Full Version : FSUIPC for dummies part duex



Infinity
02-07-2015, 03:39 PM
So I found this quick tutorial on FSUIPC.


Fsuipc offsets for dummies
Guys,

I spent some time on the weekend with Peter Dawson's Manual, and a lot of Trial and error.

I know most of you at one time went looking for this information, and sometimes are afraid of the direction the conversation can go.

Well here is the start of a Tutorial Thread that should help us all out.

Please if you are an expert in FSUIPC and Offsets, this thread is not needed for you, this is just so that maybe I can help some people not go through what I went through this weekend again.


I noticed that in PM systems there are so far two types of offsets being used. I am only 32 Buttons into this, so there may be more added here soon.

ie. Engine Start switch..

Offset X0000 Byte = 0 //--- Engine GND
Offset X0000 Byte = 1 //--- Engine off
Offset X0000 Byte = 2 //--- Engine CONT
Offset X0000 Byte = 3 //--- Engine AIR/FLT

Using Leo Bodnar's cards, or any joystick button input we program this like below.

FSUIPC Buttons/Switches menu
- Press the button
- select function Offset SET Byte
- Type in the 4 digit offset number
- Parim ON = X //-- X = 0,1,2,3 the function when the button is depressed
- select Function Offset SET Byte
- Type in the 4 digit offset number
- Parim OFF = X //-- X = 0,1,2,3 the function when the button is released

For instance On my Rotary switch I have the following when you turn it to the left for start.

- select function Offset SET Byte
- Parim ON = 0
- select Function Offset SET Byte
- Parim OFF = 1

Turnig to the right I have.
- select function Offset SET Byte
- Parim ON = 2
- select Function Offset SET Byte
- Parim OFF = 1

Very easy eh?

Ok well here is where I got confused..

the 737 has 4 landing light switches (http://skimlinks.pgpartner.com/mrdr.php?url=http%3A%2F%2Fskimlinks.pgpartner.com%2Fsearch.php%2Fform_keyword%3Dlight%2Bswitches). The Light offset has several Bits assigned to it, for instance bit .4 is the far left switch, .3 is another switch .2 is another and so on.

This works similar to above except we are not assigning a value to the bit. we are only setting the bit or clearing it.

FSUIPC Buttons/Switches menu
- Press the button
- select function Offset SET bits
- Type in the 4 digit offset number
- Parim ON = the Bit number in HEXADECIMAL See Chart Below.

- select function Offset Clr bits
- Type in the 4 digit offset number
- Parim OFF = the Bit number in HEXADECIMAL See Chart Below.

if you set the Parim OFF to 00, it clears all bits, therefore turning one switch off, appears to turn all switches off belonging to that offset number.

Here is the best way to understand the bits/hex.

Binary Counts Like this. 0 1 2 4 8 16 32 64 128

Hex counts to 16 like this. 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 A B C D E F

Each Hex Number is made up of 4 Binary Numbers. The Below shows the Hex Value for Bit .4

Bit Numbers: 7 6 5 4 | 3 2 1 0
Binary 2 groups of 4: 8 4 2 1 | 8 4 2 1
HEX Value 1 0

for Bit .5 it would be

Bit Numbers: 7 6 5 4 | 3 2 1 0
Binary 2 groups of 4: 8 4 2 1 | 8 4 2 1
HEX Value 2 0

for Bit .0 it would be

Bit Numbers: 7 6 5 4 | 3 2 1 0
Binary 2 groups of 4: 8 4 2 1 | 8 4 2 1
HEX Value 0 1


I will add to this further, as I progress, but it really did take me an eternity to figure this information out.

I hope I haven't confused anyone, but Please feel free to ask questions if you have any, and I will try to answer.

Trev



Last edited by Trevor Hale; 11-17-08 at 11:37 AM.
________________________
Trevor Hale



All sounds easy enough, BUT, I can't get pass the second step "- select function Offset SET Byte". This function is not an option. I've attached a pic to explain my dilemma. As you will see, I am in the buttons/switches tab, I've selected my button to assign (4,1), but there is no "offset set byte" function.

Where am I going wrong???

Infinity
02-07-2015, 04:39 PM
...after fooling around a little, I believe what was meant was find the "offset set byte" in the drop down column under "select fs control"...but I still can't figure this out. I've read the user guide and advanced guide and still can't get it.

All I want to do is assign my battery switch. This is more of a post for others, but if someone could lend a hand I'd appreciate it.

tiburon
02-08-2015, 04:42 AM
When you tick "select for fs control"on the left side there's the option under "control sent when button pressed" and the same for "control sent when button released".
Is that what you meant ?

Infinity
02-14-2015, 09:21 PM
No. I haven't used offsets and couldn't figure out where to go to start using them, or how to select them. I have the offset chart of items, but wasn't sure where to go.

Come to find out, my dilemma was answered by after selecting "select for fs control". There in the drop down items I found the "offset set bytes". This small step was missing in the original post. Also, I found "toggle" battery towards the bottom so I didn't need the use of offsets after all.