PDA

View Full Version : Adapting a real A6 Intruder Quadrant

binty
06-06-2014, 12:13 AM
I have an A6 Intruder Throttle Quadrant complete with 54pin Canon plug.

Im new to this stuff and need some guidance as to how to adapt it to work as a HOTAS in SIMs.

what / how do I begin make an interface? Any help would be super!

Westozy
06-10-2014, 09:08 PM
Hi binty, I believe your best option would be to buy a BU0836X card from here - http://www.leobodnar.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=180 You can connect up to 8 potentiometer and 32 switches, this will cover your quad. I use these cards with Leo Bodnar's permission in all of my PnP products. Buy some decent linear 10kohm potentiometers, (not the slide type, they are susceptible to dust and become noisy).Attach the pots to your levers with gearing if you can and try to maximize the rotation of the pots. I usually aim for about 270 degrees of rotaion. You could get that quad working quite easily with this method! Cheers Gwyn (Westozy)

binty
06-11-2014, 12:29 AM
Thanks very much Westozy. I presume the Bodnar board you list works with the Pots hooked up to to the x,y etc axis 'ports' on the card ? I havent had any potientiometer experience before... Does the 5V input come from the USB link?

Unfortunately I cant see how to rig a Pot directly to the Throttles rotational axis/pivot so I will have to arrange some form of linkage or gears as you suggest.

I have mapped out all the buttons on the quadrant canon pins now. I assume I simply attach each controls wire to the Cards Numbered port and its corresponding GND.?

Seems too easy... Im excited to think I may be able to actually get this working! If it all goes to plan I will add a collective control to the same card for Heli stuff. Woohoo

Westozy
06-11-2014, 07:06 PM