PDA

View Full Version : Meat and potatoes of CNC for beginner

Infinity
02-17-2014, 02:45 PM
I've read Gwyn's tutorial and Wendy's intro into the CNC world and want to get involved making my own panels. In a nutshell, I still don't have a clue.

Is there a book or tutorial available for an absolute beginner? Something that explains the hardware, software, drawings, downloads, and how to put it all together. And by that I mean flight simulator related.

No Longer Active
02-18-2014, 01:04 PM
Well, I am no expert but I have a basic grasp of it, and has had stuff cnc'ed for me in the past.

I think with CNC you get what you pay for, the more you pay, the better quality the machine is and the more accurate it can cut (tolerances).

You obviously need to start somewhere and buy a machine, I think building one is too much for a complete noob as you need something that you can trust right away and learn, without having to know too much about the mechanics and internals by building your own.

I Dont own a cnc machine but I would go about it this way.

Buy a machine, read the manual again and again and again, and learn how to test the steppers and spindles,moving all the axis, until you are happy that the machine is working by using a computer. I would use the free version of Mach3 to test the machine. If there are problems testing any part of the machine, I would read the manual on both Mach3 and the CNC machine until I can get to the specific problem. I would also learn what all the settings on the Mach3 configuration page mean, and what I don't really need to know.

Once I am happy that I can jog the axis and test the spindle using the computer and I am familiar with the settings on Mach and what they do, I will attempt to run the machine without a tool and to run the machine.