PDA

View Full Version : Altimeter needle offsets

Henju
01-26-2014, 12:14 PM
Hi all
Just out of interest, how would I go about finding the offset for an altimeter needle? and Would I need to use a dc motor?
Thanks for your help
Henri

kiek
01-26-2014, 01:42 PM
What about using FSUIPC offset 0x3324 ? (4 bytes).

Nico

Henju
01-26-2014, 02:55 PM
Hi Nico,
Sorry, but I am new to all this, How do I go about using 0x3324 to communicate with a dc motor?
Thanks
Henri

John_B
01-30-2014, 04:54 PM
Hi Henju

You will need a stepper motor not a dc motor if you want the needle to follow the sim's needle (as you need some means of knowing which position your needle is at).
I interface all the gauges I make via FSBUS but many people are using the opencockpits stuff (above my pay grade!).

With opencockpits you need to set up the gauge using sioc.... Apparently its straightforward once you get the hang of it ...I am still struggling on with FSBUS ...mostly because its free!!!!!

John

John

Henju
01-30-2014, 06:45 PM
Thanks for the reply, this info will help me a lot, may I ask what is FSBUS?

Thanks,
Henri

John_B
01-31-2014, 06:16 AM
Hi Henri

FSBUS is a complete means for connecting all (and every) piece of hardware to your pc.

(It kind of fell out of favour when the likes of SIOC (opencockpits) came into use as it meant you can buy the boards off the shelf and program it with their SIOC which they support.)

Basically its a complete Do-It-Yourself set up.& I really mean DIY right down to making your own pcbs.
Here is a link to the site.on it you will find all drawings and firmware for every thing you need for a sim.
It is a BIG learning curve or more accurately takes a bit of "getting your head around" but its totally free and very worth it.

http://www.fsbus.de/

There are a few people around using it but not so many so support/help is a little hard to find BUT its out there!
AND if I can do it with absolutely zero programming DNA anyone can!!!!

John

Henju