PDA

View Full Version : Arduino mega 2560, mastercard OC, SIOC and tons of basic, essential questions

Jahanzeb
11-02-2013, 05:21 PM
Hi,

After building my first overhead panel with complex methods involving joystick and keyboard hacks, capacitors and relays, like all builders, my "hunger for more" is famished. I want physical moving guages. backlit panels. Pots. Rotary encoders. Displays showing numerical values.

After reading and researching, ive noticed people use mastercards (OC) along with servo cards and motor cards by OC. i dont want to jump into servos and motors immediately. i want to start with toggle switches. then, backlit panels, then rotary encoders and display for the MCP.

My questions are:
1. can i start with the arduino mega 2560? without a mastercard?
2. what is the difference between R1, R2 and R3 for the 2560?
3. i studied C++ 10 years ago in high school. im rusty. will i be need a lot of programming background to writes codes (SIOC)? are generic codes available online?
4. does the arduino card support 54 buttons? can i interface it with FSUIPC? what Pot value does it use? can i use encoders with it? can i use pots as encoders?
5. i've read that the arduino has display out. For the MCP, can i use it for numeric values, say, for setting altitude?
6. can i control small LED's with an arduino?
7. what does the OC mastercard do? why is it so important?
8. what is the difference between serial and USb Arduino Mega2560?
9. I visited my flight school to grab an old VSI and Altimeter, but they cant let me have it by law in my country. so is there a way to make your own? (maybe with a small bedside clock or something) i know OC has these in stock. but im looking for other options.