PDA

View Full Version : The danish 727-project

lasseh
12-19-2011, 07:49 AM
Hello

I'm not new to this forum; I've been around here for quite some time. It really is a great (the best!) source for solutions and inspiration for building a home cockpit! :)

However I am new in the matter of actually building a home cockpit. Through the past year, I've been collecting items for my 727 cockpit and think that I'm now ready to give it a shot!

One week ago I had less than no knowledge on how to interface buttons and switches, FSUIPC etc. It was all greek to me! But it turned out, that it's not really that hard and sources like mycockpit.org really is helpfull here!

So yesterday i managed to connect the mode selector on my 727 flt dir mode control unit to the BU0836X card, and it's working perfectly fine! Do you remember that first time you actually managed to function a switch or a button, and something really happened in FS?! ;) I's an amazing feeling!

I've attached a few photos of some of my "hardware". :)

The Sperry 150 autopilot is actually a new addition (recieved it a few days ago). If anyone has managed to modify a such, please share your experiences! I'm thinking a 24v supply will do(?)

I'm looking so much forward to begin this project! - And i wish you all a happy holiday! :)

Best Regards,
Lasse H. Christensen

Geremy Britton
12-19-2011, 02:35 PM
Looking forward to seeing your progress with this. You really can't get more real than using actual aircraft parts, and also keep us updated on how you do it if you do manage to interface these parts as other people in the future can buy these parts and see what pins and plugs connect to what part of the instrument/panel.

Welcome to the forum, and i hope to see lots more posts from you!

Best Regards

lasseh
12-21-2011, 04:57 AM
Thank you Geremy! I'll keep posting on this forum as soon as any progress i done. It surdenly takes time to build a cockpit, but that's off cause the charm of this hobby. :)

claushansen