PDA

View Full Version : Interface cards and programing languages

585VB
09-21-2011, 08:19 PM
Hi,
I'm extremely new to this and still in a research phase. I know that this is a rather open ended question and there is some personal preference involved.
But I am trying to decide what interface cards and languages would allow me to interface real gauges with Xplane. Would I be able to use SIOC or Python with other cards other than IOCards from OC? If the card drivers are installed, I probably could but I have never done this before. What I am considering is using either IOcards, Leo's BU0836X, or Phidgets. which language is the best to use with real aircraft gauges, python, SIOC, or another? It seems like the more research I do the more I don't know where to start. forgive me if I asked too open a question.

Dozer
06-21-2012, 07:58 AM
I realise this thread is 9 months old, but in case the OP has email notifications turned on, and for the benefit of anyone arriving here from a search engine...

The Teensy USB boards made by pjrc (www.pjrc.com/teensy) are very very very good for interfacing stuff to X-Plane. These boards are Arduino-compatible, but with a better (more integrated) USB datalink, and are programmed in C++. They now come with libraries for connecting to X-Plane, so reading and writing data to the sim is very easy. Here's a demo program for the Teensy which just stops your transponder from being set to 7500, the hijack code, which gets you automatically kicked from VATSIM:

FlightSimInteger transponderCode;

void setup() {
transponderCode = XPlaneRef("sim/cockpit2/gauges/actuators/transponder_code");
//the string starting sim/ is an X-Plane dataref, as used to animate all the stuff in the 3d and 2d cockpits
}

void loop() {
FlightSim.update();

if (transponderCode == 7500) { //this reads the transponder code from X-Plane
transponderCode = 7501; //this sets the transponder code to 7501
}
}