PDA

View Full Version : Orb X melbourne intl scenery.



Geremy Britton
12-30-2010, 08:49 AM
Got the last edition of PC Pilot and the trailer for the v2 Orbx melbourne intl scenery is the one of the best sceneries i have ever seen.

The video can be seen here: (watch in HD)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ST7Avm8XWig

My favourite part is at 55 seconds :D

And if that isn't enough for you, theres a whole host of photos on their website!
http://fullterrain.com/product_ymml2.html

Cheers

Matt Olieman
12-30-2010, 09:09 AM
Amazing!!!! :) :) :) :)

Matt Olieman

JWS
12-30-2010, 10:01 AM
My favourite part is at 55 seconds :D

Cheers

Bit cheesy, don't you think? :wink:

JWS

Geremy Britton
12-30-2010, 10:37 AM
Bit cheesy, don't you think? :wink:

JWS

Sorry to hear you where disappointed ;) LOL

fordgt40
12-30-2010, 10:37 AM
It is so detailed, I felt sure that I saw the England Cricket team beating the Aussies to retain the Ashes at the Melbourne Cricket Ground :D

Geremy Britton
12-30-2010, 12:56 PM
It is so detailed, I felt sure that I saw the England Cricket team beating the Aussies to retain the Ashes at the Melbourne Cricket Ground :D

hahaha David. That was slick ;)
Hope theres no aussies reading :)

On a serious note, i think this may tip the scales for a move to FSX

Sean Nixon
12-30-2010, 01:31 PM
On a serious note, i think this may tip the scales for a move to FSX

Aye, and one of those super-computers NASA uses!

Geremy Britton
12-30-2010, 01:55 PM
sean, bearing in mind i can hijack my own thread ;) ... what computer spec do you have?
Something to compare to...

Sean Nixon
12-30-2010, 02:26 PM
Hi Geremy

I'm still using FS9 on an ageing P4. If I were to build a new FS PC tomorrow, it'd almost certainly be an i7 930 and the new Nvidia GTX570. I may push the boat out and get the i7 960 and the GTX580 for an extra 350 or so.

But as I'm building rather than flying at the moment, I'm holding off the new PC.

Sean

JWS
12-30-2010, 02:37 PM
On a serious note, i think this may tip the scales for a move to FSX

No it does not (imho). FSX needs ridiculous hardware which I'm not going to buy at the moment. I've loads of beautiful FS9 scenery. Sure there is a lot of eye candy but at what price? My rig is performing nicely at the moment and I can hold on for a couple of years until Aerosoft comes with a new FS. Then it's time to review.

JWS

Geremy Britton
12-30-2010, 02:40 PM
Well i'm currently with a dual core Dell XPS. Looking at upgrading the graphics card from the standard in there at the moment, and another sounds card too.

I've been so used to building over the last few years, i've only just started looking at the PC spec and software side of things, and this is something i'm not as familar with. Perhaps a stupid question i know you'll be able to answer, for projector detail is it down to the graphics card supplying the image or the projector. Or both? Whats the balance.. You have a fantastic projector setup so i thought it would be best speaking to you sean

Matt Olieman
12-30-2010, 02:58 PM
I'll let you all know what it does on a 3.33 GHz i7-980X 6 core with 24 Gigs of memory on board next week. FSX still relies on a single core. :(

Matt Olieman

Sean Nixon
12-30-2010, 03:09 PM
With FS, or to be precise, FSX (any new PC will breeze through FS9), the CPU is king. The faster, the better. The graphics card is less important as pretty much any card less than a year or two old will be hindered by the CPU's performance. Having said that, I'd still put one of the fastest I could in any system I was building.

I'm not sure putting the latest graphics card into your dual core would actually give you any benefit under FSX, certainly not in terms of framerate.

I don't think a dedicated sound card would offer much of a performance improvement either.

As is nearly always the case, upgrading an existing PC has it's limitations, sometimes to the point you'd be better off giving the old PC a new task and building a new dedicated FSX PC.

With regards projectors, they are definately the weak link. Resolution of projectors is stuck in the dark ages. On board graphics cards can easily handle the max resolution of todays mainstream projectors. That's one of the trade-offs of having a large immersive projected image, but the immersion factor more than compensates for that.

Please understand, these are only my personal opinions and beliefs. As I said earlier, I'm still using a Pentium 4 and haven't flown FS for ages. But I try to keep one eye on what's happening on the PC/FS front so I don't get too out of touch!

Sean

Sean Nixon
12-30-2010, 03:14 PM
I'll let you all know what it does on a 3.33 GHz i7-980X 6 core with 24 Gigs of memory on board next week. FSX still relies on a single core. :(

Matt Olieman

Look forward to that Matt.

Yes, that shiny new six core CPU might've cost a bundle, but FSX will only use 1 core! Of course, you could run other apps on it, but that kind of strays away from the general consensus that a home cockpit should run on a network of PC's, leaving the main one to run only FS. It'd be interesting to see some benchmarks from someone willing to experiment.

Sean Nixon
12-30-2010, 03:17 PM
Matt, may I ask where you are at with your cockpit.

Last time we spoke, you where building an A340, but that was a long time ago.

Regards

Sean

Matt Olieman
12-30-2010, 03:40 PM
Matt, may I ask where you are at with your cockpit.

Last time we spoke, you where building an A340, but that was a long time ago.

Regards

Sean

My Shell and base is a 1000 miles from here. I have my Mip, glare shield, pedestal, side sticks and overhead. I'm in the process of assembling the parts I have and a flying I will go.

My primary app for my i7 computer is my virtual pipe organ, which requires a fast CPU and the 24 Gigs to function to it's fullest capacity.

I'd love to get my hands on Orb X melbourne intl scenery to see what it will do on this system.

Matt Olieman

fordgt40
12-30-2010, 04:31 PM
Yes, that shiny new six core CPU might've cost a bundle, but FSX will only use 1 core!

Sean

Are you sure? I thought that with the service pack FSX was recoded to take advantage of two core but not multicore

David

Sean Nixon
12-30-2010, 05:03 PM
Hello David

It's not really an area I'm too knowledgeable on if I'm being honest. In the last hour or so, I've gotten engrosed in googling the subject and have found several sites that suggest you may be right...

http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforums/showthread.php?p=105499

Sean

fordgt40
12-30-2010, 05:28 PM
Sean

So we were both wrong :) That link is fascinating - many thanks. I can now think about upgrading my pc on the basis of that thread,

David

mpl330
12-30-2010, 06:59 PM
Hi Guys,

And bear in mind that Intel have their new range of chips coming out 9th January (Sandybridge). These are supposed to be similar price point to current I5 & I7 chips but with more headroom as there are reports of some overclocking to over 4.5ghz on air as they run cooler. I was about to click order on a new system and had to hold off!

Cheers
Mike

Sean Nixon
12-30-2010, 07:01 PM
Anyone thinking of upgrading in the near future should wait and see what Intels new Sandy Bridge delivers when it launches in the next 2 weeks. It's eagerly awaited and looks promising...

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/sandy-bridge-nehalem-core-i7,11464.html

mpl330
12-30-2010, 07:05 PM
Hi Sean,
I think we hit enter at the same time!

The Christmas cash has been burning a hole in my pocket so it has been hard to hold off pressing order having been reading a bit about specs recently!
Cheers
Mike

Sean Nixon
12-30-2010, 07:13 PM
Hi Mike

It'll be interesting to see what's available when Sandy Bridge launches. Do you have a particular system in mind?

mpl330
12-31-2010, 05:09 AM
Hi Sean,

I was going for:
Intel Core i7 950 3.06GHz (Bloomfield) (Socket LGA1366)
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Intel X58 (Socket 1366) DDR3 Motherboard
OCZ 60GB Vertex 2E SSD
Zotac GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5 Dual DVI Mini HDMI Out PCI-E Graphics Card
Antec TruePower New 750W Modular PSU
6gb DDR3 Memory
Win7

I'm going to re-use my watercooling from my current setup and overclock so would need a new cpu & gpu waterblock too. I was also going to re-use my raptor drives but these are the original 74gb variety and haven't quite decided if for the sake of a new drive they would have an adverse effect on performance...
This may now change with Sandybridge.....

Cheers
Mike

Matt Olieman
12-31-2010, 09:22 AM
This may sound like a dumb question, but with all the different MS Win7 - 64 bit OS products offered, which one is the best for FS?

Currently I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit. On a Intel Core Quad CPU Q6700 @ 2.66GHZ running at 3.5 GHz and 4 GB of memory. AND this baby screams with FPS using FS9. Full sliders, a min of 60 FPS and mostly runs over 100 FPS. I LOVE IT. FSX is another story; full sliders over at JFK, Thunderstorms, 25 FPS, flying towards the city I get down to 5 FPS.

Matt Olieman

mpl330
12-31-2010, 10:37 AM
Hi Matt,

Win7 Home Premium 64 bit was the version I would go for too...

5 fps in FSX v 60+ in FS9 - ouch!
Cheers
Mike

Geremy Britton
12-31-2010, 11:26 AM
another dumb question ... how do you find out during your flying what FPS you're getting at a particular point?

Matt Olieman
12-31-2010, 11:32 AM
another dumb question ... how do you find out during your flying what FPS you're getting at a particular point?

Control "Z"

Matt Olieman