PDA

View Full Version : DC Motors for 737 TQ

Joe Lavery
07-11-2010, 11:22 AM
Hi all,

I'm in the process of designing a new TQ, basically to have it motorised. Never having gone this route I don't know what motor size or revolution I should get. Should it be 12 volt, 30RPM 15RPM or less, these low revs are running through a gearbox?

I intend to use the Open Cockpits 6 DC motor card which hopefully will drive the motors.
Any advice, help or instruction would be very much apprecited. I don't have any knowledge of SIOC so do you think I might be biting off more than I can chew? http://www.cockpitbuilders.com/community/Smileys/default/undecided.gif

Cheers
Joe.

Boeing 747 Flyer
07-11-2010, 11:51 AM
Hiya Joe,

Regarding the SIOC front...

I was a complete amateur of SIOC before I tried making my own ASI gauge with the USBServos Card. It took a week, alot of trial and error and input from the MyCockpit users, but I eventually achieved it. It is difficult but it can be done.

fordgt40
07-11-2010, 03:10 PM
Joe

If you have not already found this, then I suggest you read this thread on Cockpit Builders

http://www.cockpitbuilders.com/community/index.php?topic=780.msg6207#msg6207

With regard to SIOC, yes it is challenging and for your proposed use will require a lot of study to understand the basics. I suggest that you carefully study Nico`s site

http://www.lekseecon.nl/opencockpits.html.

Currently, there are very few SIOC code examples out there, so a lot of coding work will be required. At some time in the near future, I will be going along a similar route and willl gladly share my experiences

Regards

David

Joe Lavery
07-11-2010, 04:38 PM
Thanks guys,