PDA

View Full Version : 727 update, flight engineers panel and SIOC question



LH784
11-18-2009, 05:14 AM
Dear all,

I guess, now the time has come to post the first update on my 727 project. Besides the update I also have a SIOC question and I would like to reward any suggestions with some pics :-)

My project is mainly based on reverse engineering and re-cabeling rather than building from scratch, so appologioes to all the talented builders who produce producs I could never build.

The past months went into conversion of a 727 flight engineer's panel (for the younger builders: that part for the third crewman, which later on was integrated into the overhead panel :-)). Unfortunately the legs of the panel had been cut, so I needed a stand. Thanks to RadarBob for the measurements, they helped tremendously in the design of the stand. THe stand does not look too good (the legs come out quite a bit, see the pic when I painted it), but now it is stable and won't tilt over.




The panel uses one complete OC output card (without addressing the announciators) and two master cards for the inputs. For powering the lamps I used 8 * 0,8 mm bell wire, for the switches 16 * 0,6 mm bell wire. There is a total of 9 16-wire cables for the switches (including ground) and more than 10 8-wire cables for the lamps (including ground and push-to-test). The pics shows an intermediate of the work, there are quite some cables and some lamps are currently tested. Currently I am still thinking of a good idea how to store or organize the cards (fix them on wood, get a little rack and mount the individual cards on different shelves...

As for the SIOC question: Since I cannot read many 727 specific variables via FSUIPC, I have to simulate many of the systems and I want to do that by SIOC (I know, a 767 would be an alternative...:-)).
I want to define different electricity status, depending on supply (battery, gen 1-3, essential etc.). When the battery is off (cold & dark) all lights are out. When the battery is switched on the electrical systems get powered up; when fuel pumps are switched off, the low pressure light goes on. However, when e.g. fuel pumps are already switched on when the battery is strated, SIOC will not again check the status of the switch as it did not change. So the question is: do I have to tell the program to check all switches when the battery is switched on (by subroutine ?) or is there an easy workaround that the program will automatically address all switches if they are in the on or off position ?

As an expample I have included a few lines from the code:

Var 5051, name BattMasterSw, Link IOCARD_SW, Device 1, Input 107, Type 1 // Battery Master Switch
{
IF &BattMasterSw = 1
{
&BatteryStatus = 1 // Battery Offset in FS = 1, Battery is On
&Electricity = 2 // Electricity available via Battery
&BusStByState = 1 // Standby Bus powered
&Eng1GenLamp = 1 // Eng 1 Generator Lamp is on
&Eng2GenLamp = 1 // Eng 2 Generator Lamp is on
&Eng3GenLamp = 1 // Eng 3 Generator Lamp is on
IF &FuelC > 1000 // Fuel is available in Tank 2
{
&APUState = 2 // APU is ready for Start
}
ELSE
{
&APUState = 1 // APU Powered
}
}
ELSE
{
&BusStByState = 0 // Standby Bus off
&BatteryStatus = 0 // Battery Offset in FS = 0, Battery is Off
&Eng1GenLamp = 0 // Eng 1 Generator Lamp is off
&Eng2GenLamp = 0 // Eng 2 Generator Lamp is off
&Eng3GenLamp = 0 // Eng 3 Generator Lamp is off
}
}

Var 5221, name FuelBoostP1Fwd, Link IOCARD_SW, Device 1, Input 4, Type 1 // Fuel Boost Pump Tank 1 Forward Switch
{
IF &Electricity > 0 // If Electricity is available
{
IF &FuelBoostP1Fwd = 1 // If Fuel Boost Pump Tank 1 Forward Switch is ON
{
&FuelPress1FwdL = 0 // Fuel Tank 1 Forward Low Pressure Light is Off
&VJ68 = SETBIT 0 // Virtual Joystick 68, Button 0 ON => Fuel Boost Pump Tank 1 Forward Switch in Sim is ON
}
ELSE
{
&FuelPress1FwdL = 1 // Fuel Tank 1 Forward Low Pressure Light is ON
&VJ68 = CLEARBIT 0 // Virtual Joystick 68, Button 0 Off => Fuel Boost Pump Tank 1 Forward Switch in Sim is Off
}
}
ELSE
{
&FuelPress1FwdL = 0
}
}



Thanks,
Florian

Chaser
11-19-2009, 11:35 PM
Dear sir,
I'm not sure if this is of interest to you, but I saw this and noted that it appeared to be missing from your FE panel.

http://www.angelfire.com/il2/aphs/forsale/forsale.html

Almost all the way at the bottom is a 727 FE performance data from the panels for $15.
Jon

Stijn
11-20-2009, 06:25 AM
Really nice,

I wish I had space for a FE panel.
I my self completed interfacing my mip yesterday.
And my throttle quad is nearly done.


Stijn