PDA

View Full Version : MCP 737 Toggle switches and keypress in FSX

JohnKnox
10-28-2009, 08:42 PM
I'm new to this so apologies for what I hope is a dumb question.
Using FSX OC MCP737 and Wilco737 PIC. Yes I've read enough to know that combination is problematic but to start I'm only after simplistic functions I hope I can get to work.

The MCP works as it should with default 737, so I have things basically working.

Better than that much of the MCP works with the Wilco737 , readouts and rotary switches for course, IAS, Heading and altitude and the AP master switch seem to work at least in the MCP > FSX direction.

But I'm stuck on the toggle switches eg HDG SEL SPEED N1 etc.
I have assigned in the Wilco737 setup utility keypresses for these.

If we just talk about just 2, say HDG SEL and LVL CHG what I don't understand is how I get the MCP to talk to FS. Say I have Ctrl+H as the keypress for HDG SEL in the Wilco737 config utility, how do I get the MCP to send Ctrl+H to FSX when I press the HDG SEL toggle on the MCP. Same for LVL CHG really which I have as Ctrl+I.

I think I understand FSUIPC is involved with this, but not much more than that, and I have the Registered version latest ver4.53

So I'm not after sophisticated functionality (yet) just how to get a MCP button press interpreted as a keypress in FS.

TIA
John Knox

autocadplease
10-28-2009, 10:47 PM
Use FSUIPC. Go to the button & switches tab. Press the button / switch you want to assign, then either select a function from the list or input the key press(es) you want to send to FSX. It is just that simple!

mounty
10-28-2009, 10:48 PM
This is where FSUIPC comes in. You can program your switches, buttons and rotaries through FSUIPC using the "Buttons/Switches" screen. For example if you want to use CNTL+H for heading then you press the Heading button and it will show up[ on the screen. Then you enter the keystroke combination to be sent when you press that button.