PDA

View Full Version : Networking and Internet sharing



iwik
06-13-2009, 03:35 PM
Hi,
Not up with networking but need to know the following.
Here is my network and description:
PC1, PC2 these two are conected to a switch.
PC3 is remote and connects to the Internet via cable modem(USB conn) and then to the switch via OVER THE POWER LINE LAN connection.
Every thing works fine,internet sharing and networking.
If i break the OVER THE POWER LINE connection,then naturally i will loose
internet to the PC1 and PC2.But I also loose networking between PC1 and PC2.
Is this because PC3 is really my server?.Do i need to use a Router?.
Where should i place my Router?(should it be at the other end of the Over Power Lan line).
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Les

Rodney
06-13-2009, 08:39 PM
OK, I'm going to assume from the description "PC3" it is not a laptop. Does PC3 have a ethernet port? I don't understand over the power line lan, But I have something similar for telephone between 2 dvr's to avoid a $5.98 monthly fee for a guide. Does your cable connection split somehow and go to a usb dongle in the back of PC3? If PC3 is doing Internet Connection Sharing for PC1 & PC2 then yes, you sort have a server service. Most Internet connections go into a house via cable, DSL or Satellite dish and then into a router. Then all pc's go into the router. Some routers have wireless capability too. If PC1 & PC2 that are connected to a switch, what is the switch connected to? How do they get connected to the internet? Over the power line lan? So many possibilities.

iwik
06-14-2009, 04:30 AM
Hi Rodney,
Thanks for the reply.Let me explain a little.PC3 is a laptop inside my house which has an internet connection from a cable modem(connected to PC3 via USB).
I then exit PC3 thru a lan cable to an adapter plugged into a mains socket.
This is my lan cable out to my w/shop where PC1 and PC2 reside.
There is another adapter plugged in the mains which is the other
end of the lan cable.From here we go into switch which then feeds PC1
and PC2.
Its when i switch off one of these adapters,naturally i will losethe internet connection but i also lose the lan between PC1 and PC2.I suppose i should be replacing the switch with a router.There by providing a server which has been severed by turning off the connection to PC3.
Hope this makes it a bit clearer.
Les

Rodney
06-14-2009, 08:16 AM
Les,
OK then PC1 & PC2 must be getting a DHCP assigned IP address when PC3 is on from the cable modem. When you turn off PC3 there is no longer a DHCP service available to assign IP addresses. So PC1 & PC2 need static IP addresses assigned that are in the range of the internet modem. Best way to tell you how to do that is fire your systems up and do a ipconfig /all from a command prompt on PC1 & PC2 and then assign that ip address that each one has as a static ip address on PC1 & PC2. When you take the internet down after that PC1 & PC2 should then be able to see each other.
http://www.hotcomm.com/FAQ/FAQ_staticIPXP.asp

iwik
06-15-2009, 05:20 AM
Rodney,
Thanks all fine now.Did what you suggested and it works well now.
Les