PDA

View Full Version : total newb question

djcevera20
03-16-2009, 02:34 PM
could someone please point me in the dirrection as to how to light a led that is on a momentary switch.. im trying to get it so when i hit my ap engage button a light comes on and stays on letting me know auto pilot is on.

Buddym
03-16-2009, 02:51 PM
Hi,

What interfacing solution are you using? In general your hardware output for the LED must be linked in software to the appropriate FSUIPC offset for the desired function, like AP ENGAGE.

BuddyM

djcevera20
03-16-2009, 03:16 PM
i am using the desktop aviator rotary encoder and usb to 20 button interface

Buddym
03-16-2009, 03:26 PM
I am not well versed with this hardware, but scanning the product pages on the website it looks like these boards do not have outputs. Maybe someone else here has some expertise, but to me it looks like inputs only.

BuddyM

djcevera20
03-16-2009, 03:50 PM
buddym thank you for the quick return if that is the case do you know of a way to incorporate some diy outputs

Buddym
03-16-2009, 04:05 PM
Well depending on your comfort level and electronics skills there are a couple... The no-hardware method would be a straight connection to output pins on a parallel printer port... BUT, you still have to get software to get the FSUIPC offset data to your hardware. You could write a application in C or VB to read the FSUIPC data and the take action on the parallel port pins accordingly... Jan Axelson's book on parallel ports would be the place to start. Another method would be using a PIC or AVR microcontroller in HID mode to drive some outputs via USB, this will require some small $$ for chips. This is all depending upon skill levels with such things, and how much your time is worth compared to buying something assembled and tested. I love to build things are write code (not an expert at either), so it's ok for me sometimes.....