PDA

View Full Version : Looking for CNC machine

AndyT
11-19-2008, 02:24 AM
Ok, I'm convinced that having a tabletop CNC router will allow me to cut my own panels and other goodies. Now I just need to know what's the best one for the least amount of money. Or should I build one?

Lewis Simmons
11-19-2008, 03:14 AM
Build one. I'm looking at these websites where you buy the plans and it looks a heck of a lot cheaper to do and it means you know the machine inside out.;)

AndyT
11-19-2008, 03:26 AM
So who has the best plans? Prices? Features I can build in? I have a very powerful roto-tool already with a flexible shaft that I can use.

Lewis Simmons
11-19-2008, 03:29 AM
Well my recommendation would be google. I'm new to it all also but I have been looking at prices recently and I think this is the way to go.

Price will depend on what you want to do in the end, how much cutting area, what to cut. Obviously the greater cutting area, the higher the price but if you wish to cut metals other than aluminium then the price will go up as you have to have some more bits here and there for that.

fweinrebe
11-19-2008, 03:43 AM
I am in the planning phase of building my own CNC. I use the one on this page. http://computer-numerical-control.wpblogspot.com/. The plan is for free. One can also download a SolidWorks 3D plan of the CNC. The SolidWorks viewer can be downloaded for free.

It might be on the smaller side, if you want to do large panels.

AndyT
11-19-2008, 04:14 AM
What about software? Is there a free CNC CAD controller? Or will I have to buy Solidworks or what?

AndyT
11-19-2008, 04:38 AM
This would be very easy to scale up and the roto-tool he uses is almost the same one I have.
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6drMZqmyXQc

fweinrebe
11-19-2008, 04:50 AM
Solidworks is not for free. Except for the reader which is needed to see the plan in 3D.