PDA

View Full Version : Can this be done?



767300
05-27-2008, 11:12 AM
Hi guys,

Im just wondering if there is a way either through the Glass cockpit software or pmsystems to get the displays to blank or go dim and then brighten back to normal after engine start and the generators switch from apu to engine gennys? This happens on the 767.

James

Trevor Hale
05-27-2008, 11:17 AM
It actually happens lots in most aircraft, especially when the start switch is thrown.

It would be a Neat effect, I would connect your monitor power supplies through relays attached to your start buttons. That would work excellent.

Trev

767300
05-27-2008, 11:37 AM
Thanks Trevor, great idea. It would be really neat if the software could do it.

James

andarlite
05-27-2008, 11:50 AM
Thanks Trevor, great idea. It would be really neat if the software could do it.

James


The Level D 767 software does it....... but I take it you are probably not using it if you are on PM.

Regards,
Henry

767300
05-27-2008, 12:28 PM
Hi Henry,

Ya PM since the early days. Have the LDS on one laptop.

James

luisgordo
05-27-2008, 01:14 PM
You can do this programming in pmSystems (in the logic file). Just set the displays to dim or turn off (find the appropriate offsets in the PM documentation) when the engine switches (again, look for offsets) are actuated.

Jackpilot
05-27-2008, 02:46 PM
AS far as I remember, there is a key command in the GC menu or cfg that allows displays to shut off and they come back progressively on.
Linking that to engine start should be doable...

Jackpilot
05-27-2008, 02:47 PM
Pretty shure FSUIPC can do that....will check.

Tomlin
05-27-2008, 03:00 PM
Well, I would like to know how to make the displays turn OFF once the Avionics Master Switch is turned OFF. When I turn ON the BATT and then the MASTER AVION switch, the displays spring to life. Turning them off only turns OFF the GF166 and the reception of ATC/ILS/Navaid data on the displays.

Thanks,

gereta
05-27-2008, 03:14 PM
It actually happens lots in most aircraft, especially when the start switch is thrown.

It would be a Neat effect, I would connect your monitor power supplies through relays attached to your start buttons. That would work excellent.

Trev
Sorry, but this looks like last century solution...
I don't know what PM you have, but PM regional Jet nicely goes from dim to off and from off to brighten simply via Master Avionic Switch. All you have to do is write 0 or 1 to 0x2E80 offset.
Works great, looks nice and I think works better than playing with power supplies, relais and all that "hardcore" stuff.

dodiano
05-27-2008, 05:49 PM
It actually happens lots in most aircraft, especially when the start switch is thrown.

It would be a Neat effect, I would connect your monitor power supplies through relays attached to your start buttons. That would work excellent.

Trev

Level D 767 does it if I am not wrong... and it happens in most planes when there is a change of Generator there is a slight power interruption during the change and depending on the Bus they are attached to that is the screen that blinks!

Regards

Roberto

Trevor Hale
05-27-2008, 06:16 PM
Sorry, but this looks like last century solution...
I don't know what PM you have, but PM regional Jet nicely goes from dim to off and from off to brighten simply via Master Avionic Switch. All you have to do is write 0 or 1 to 0x2E80 offset.
Works great, looks nice and I think works better than playing with power supplies, relais and all that "hardcore" stuff.

But the problem with doing it the way you suggest, is if you have turns off everything that is being controlled by the Avionic switch.

thats all.

AchillesP
05-28-2008, 04:32 AM
Hi,

If I understand well, when battery is closed you want the PFD/GC screens to be blank and when the battery is on the sceens to go on with auto dimming.

In this way it is possible throu the PFD/GC menu. Press Esc to enter the menu then enter OpenGl oprion and check the and check opengl dimming

michelmvd
05-28-2008, 05:18 AM
This are events you can program in PMSystem I think.
B. rgds
Michel

Trevor Hale
05-28-2008, 08:14 AM
Hi,

If I understand well, when battery is closed you want the PFD/GC screens to be blank and when the battery is on the sceens to go on with auto dimming.

In this way it is possible throu the PFD/GC menu. Press Esc to enter the menu then enter OpenGl oprion and check the and check opengl dimming

No he wants to achieve the out and dimming when he changes from Bat to Gen bus, etc.

AchillesP
05-28-2008, 01:13 PM
Somethink like that or similar should work

[logics]
55F0 0 CPFD
55F0 1 CND
55F0 2 UECAM
55F0 3 LECAM
55F0 4 FND
55F0 5 FPFD

if (genbus1 = 0) or (genbus2 = 0)
then
CPFD = 0
CND = 0
UECAM = 0
LECAM = 0
FND = 0
FPFD = 0
else
CPFD = 100
CND = 100
UECAM = 100
LECAM = 100
FND = 100
FPFD = 100
endif

Trevor Hale
05-28-2008, 02:00 PM
Of course... Pmsystems comes through again...

Great stuff, Thanks.

alaxus
05-31-2008, 11:30 PM
Well, I would like to know how to make the displays turn OFF once the Avionics Master Switch is turned OFF. When I turn ON the BATT and then the MASTER AVION switch, the displays spring to life. Turning them off only turns OFF the GF166 and the reception of ATC/ILS/Navaid data on the displays.

Thanks,
Mine turn off fine, what offsets are you using?

phil.
06-02-2008, 10:39 AM
in the 737 logics file, should i add all these lines in it, and does it mather where i place all the lines ?
Phil.
[logics]
55F0 0 CPFD
55F0 1 CND
55F0 2 UECAM
55F0 3 LECAM
55F0 4 FND
55F0 5 FPFD

if (genbus1 = 0) or (genbus2 = 0)
then
CPFD = 0
CND = 0
UECAM = 0
LECAM = 0
FND = 0
FPFD = 0
else
CPFD = 100
CND = 100
UECAM = 100
LECAM = 100
FND = 100
FPFD = 100
endif

767300
06-02-2008, 04:39 PM
I was just about to ask the same question. 777/767

James

AchillesP
06-02-2008, 05:12 PM
Hi,

The offsets are the below which can entered inside sysvar.txt or at the logic section of pmsysxxx.lgc

55F0 0 CPFD
55F0 1 CND
55F0 2 UECAM
55F0 3 LECAM
55F0 4 FND
55F0 5 FPFD

The manual says
(Dimmer Implemented for Airbus and Boeing
Glass Cockpit display brightness, Bytes
0 - Captain PFD
1 - <?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = ST1 /><ST1:CITY w:st="on">Captain</ST1:CITY> <ST1:STATE w:st="on">ND</ST1:STATE>
2 - Upper ECAM
3 - <ST1:PLACE w:st="on">Lower ECAM</ST1:PLACE>
4 - F/O ND
5 - F/O PFD<?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = U5 /><U5:P></U5:P><?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = U4 /><U4:P></U4:P><?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = U1 /><U1:P></U1:P><?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = O /><O:P></O:P>
0 - INOP, 1 Dark -100 Bright
Important: Bitmap Frames must be disabled)

So, you must build a logic that must be dark or bright when you want. The logic must me something like the below and must be inserted at the logic section of pmsysxxx.lgc

if (genbus1 = 0) or (genbus2 = 0)
then
CPFD = 1
CND = 1
UECAM = 1
LECAM = 1
FND = 1
FPFD = 1
else
CPFD = 100
CND = 100
UECAM = 100
LECAM = 100
FND = 100
FPFD = 100
endif

I did not test it and I do not know if it works, but it seems it will.

767300
06-02-2008, 07:00 PM
Hi guys,

Ive tried this on my development setup and it didnt work. thats not to say that it wont work on someone elses setup. If I am reading AchillesP's sys logic right, then basically it says if GEN1 or GEN2 are OFF then no PFD/ND/etc. IF GEN1 or GEN2 are ON then PFD/ND/etc are bright 100%. From reading the logic on the 777, if APU/GRND PWR are ON the FSAVIONICS thus PFD/ND/etc on. Presume this includes the battery. Im begining to think that at what ever N1/N2 setting in % the GEN1 and GEN2 kick in is where we need to write the logic? S0 say if N1 = 15% then PFD/etc = 0 Then when N1 = 19% then PFD = 100.

Make sence to anyone?


James

AchillesP
06-03-2008, 05:21 AM
Edited and removed.

AchillesP
06-03-2008, 01:42 PM
Edited and removed.

Jackpilot
06-04-2008, 05:25 PM
I use something really simple to have the displays go off and back immediately, which can simulate the rapid blinking effect of a bus change ..
FSUIPC lists the following:
Pm Elec All toggle
This can be linked to a key or a switch very easily.
No programing needed.

Hope it can help.

Tomlin
06-05-2008, 08:27 AM
I use something really simple to have the displays go off and back immediately, which can simulate the rapid blinking effect of a bus change ..
FSUIPC lists the following:
Pm Elec All toggle
This can be linked to a key or a switch very easily.
No programing needed.

Hope it can help.

Speaking of this...is it possible to have a switch or button assigned to multiple offsets, in other words in your example above, let's say that I want to have the L GEN switch assigned to turn on the L GEN *and* assigned to the additional offset for the 'PM Elec All toggle' ?

Im using the FDS SYS3 card.

Thomas Richter
06-06-2008, 02:01 AM
Hi Eric

Yes, that is possible. You need to do it manually in FSUIPC.ini file.

Tomlin
06-06-2008, 09:24 AM
Thanks, I will take a look this weekend then!

Thomas Richter
06-06-2008, 11:29 AM
Hi Eric

I think you use GoFlight modules for some functions.
This is e.g. with a 8 Switch Module to set the Battery and the Avionics at the same time with ONE switch ON/OFF.

[Buttons]
5=P109,0,Cx01003102,x01
6=U109,0,Cx01003102,x00
7=P109,0,Cx01003103,x01
8=U109,0,Cx01003103,x00

jb747
06-08-2008, 05:34 PM
I use something really simple to have the displays go off and back immediately, which can simulate the rapid blinking effect of a bus change ..
FSUIPC lists the following:
Pm Elec All toggle
This can be linked to a key or a switch very easily.
No programing needed.

Hope it can help.

Interesting. What is the offset and size? I did a quick look at the doc's and couldn't find it.

Cheers,

Jon

767300
06-11-2008, 12:13 PM
Hi, Guys,

Does the PM systems mod take into account that on the 767 and so I imagine the 777 aswell, that all BUS switches are IN/AUTO and so the bus cahnge is automatic. No Pilot intervention needed.

James

NicD
09-20-2008, 08:12 PM
I'm also searching for this mysterious FSUIPC reference to 'PM Elec All toggle' . Can somebody shed some light on this offset please?