PDA

View Full Version : SIOCards and pmSystems



jfuenmay
05-08-2008, 02:33 PM
Hi to all:

I have purchased the I/O cards from Opencockpits and
I need to interface them to pmSystems. Has anybody tried this?

My goal is to have the electrical Panel, the CRZ ALT and LDG ALT
displays working. I do have experience in programming. I just need
to know if anybody has been successful in doing this.

pmSystems has native interface to SYS cards from FDS and Phidgets
but not with Opencockpits.

Thanks.

dcutugno
05-08-2008, 04:14 PM
Hi, if you search in the forum i had already put the code for FLT and LNG altitude display for sioc and PM Sys.

jfuenmay
05-08-2008, 05:12 PM
I'll certainly look. I just did not want to duplicate efforts.
I will start working on the code for the AFDS if none is been written.

Thanks.

jfuenmay
05-09-2008, 03:42 PM
Thank you. I located the post but I am not able to see the code when I click
on the attachment. I get a blank page. Also If I save it, it saves it as a .php file.

Thanks once again

dcutugno
05-09-2008, 05:21 PM
I edited the post so you can see the code! at http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/showthread.php?p=46660#post46660
Don't know why the attach doesn't work, it seems a problem with the forum board, Admin check please.

jfuenmay
05-09-2008, 06:16 PM
Thank you. Have you had the time to fiddle with the AFDS logic?
pmSystems does not have it. I am willing to tackle the problem if none has done it.

I pretty much have evreything working with a mixture of phidgets , SYM cards
and now SIOC cards. I understand the possibilities of the language allow for some very nice things.

I will look at your code and try to learn the language.

Once again, many thanks!!.

dcutugno
05-09-2008, 06:33 PM
I didn't the code for the AFDS 'cause i haven't MIP full, but when i get there i will look.
I'm currently working on the overhead part, when i finish that i will do other things.
I did also the SIXPACK code in SIOC for PMsystems if you need that.
Bye!

jfuenmay
05-27-2008, 10:11 PM
Well , here I am again. Downloaded the code for LDG ALT. Great job.
It works well, however, I have a little problem which is quite unusual and
it is not your code.

When writing to the DISPLAY CARD , the digits
appear from right to left. I tested it with a very simple SIOC program
that writes a number to the display. Here it is

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
// TEST SIOC program. diplays digits on 7seg LED


var 1 Value 300
{
v3 = v1
}

var 3 Link IOCARD_DISPLAY Digit 0 Numbers 3

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The display should read 300, instead it reads 003.

If I change the value of v1 to 003 then it displays it correctly, 300
which is what the original program should do.

When running the code for FLT LDG on pmSystems
the altitudes are displayed in reverse. For example FLT ALT
36000 in pmSystems is displayed as 00063 and
LDG ALT 240 in pmSystems is displayed as 042. Quite annoying.

I tested digit by digit with the Controller program, the positions
and the numbers are displayed correctly.

Has anybody experienced something like this.

I am usisng 7seg displays supplied by FDS, white digits
in a mounting card with a group of 5.


Regards to all.

dcutugno
05-28-2008, 07:32 AM
As you can see from your simple code the problem is hardware related, so i think you must connect the wire in reverse order, maybe the FDS PCB are different than OC in layout...

Trevor Hale
05-28-2008, 08:30 AM
Yup! I would agree You have your MSB and your LSB reversed. Take the common wire from your 7 segments and reverse the order that they are wired..

Trev

jfuenmay
05-28-2008, 09:18 AM
OK guys, let me get this straight. Obviously the segs ABCDEFG are correct
since the numbers display correctly.

I have 10 common catode wires , one for each digit.
which go to the DISPLAY CARD (I had never done this before!!. Iwas amazed
that it somehow worked) so to make shure, wire No. 1 now becomes No. 10
and so on?? .

Thanks for the help.

Trevor Hale
05-28-2008, 09:28 AM
I would suggest that

If you are defining one 3 digit display, I would suggest you do it like this.

1 becomes 3

then when you add the next say a 4 display definition, then 4 would be 7 5 would be 6.

does this make sense to you?

jfuenmay
05-28-2008, 09:41 AM
Actually afte a bit of thought it should be flipping wires 1-5 for
the first group and and 10-6 in the other, right?

Trevor Hale
05-28-2008, 12:08 PM
that would be correct if you are going to group the 10 into teo. I am not familiar with the 7 segment board your using, all I can say is that if your using a function that has 3 Digits, then your #3 has to be your Most significant bit, and your #1 would be your Least significant Bit.

By the sounds of things the board is wired so that #10 is your MSB and #1 is your LSB you need to keep this true when your wiring. Your documentation should tell you what is what...

Trev

jfuenmay
05-28-2008, 03:00 PM
Yes, It looks like that. I had very scant information for this board which
handles 5 digits. It sounds they are reversed. I'll work on it
tonight and feed you back.

Thanks.

jfuenmay
05-29-2008, 09:51 AM
Switched the common cathode cables, now it
works well. Thank you.

Has anybody worked on the Electrical display panel?

Regrads to all.