PDA

View Full Version : Hagstrom KE-72 vs KE-USB36 or 108 thoughts?

XOrionFE
01-11-2008, 08:59 AM
I am thinking about getting one of these. I am currently working on a GA cockpit but it will also double for combat sims (LockOn and/or Falcon AF). It seems many folks have great success with Hagstrom products. I am a network engineer and should have no problem with the setup, programming, wiring, etc but I am curious why many of you seem to be using the KE-72 which requires daisy chaining with PS/2 keyboard versus using the KE-USB36 or KE-USB108 units. Many systems are starting to ship without PS2 at all. Everything is USB. Is there any advantage other than price with going with the KE-72? I am looking for experienced answers because I have never used any of their products. Thanks in advance for any insight.

FYI- I would like to be able to use pushbutton, toggle, and maybe a couple rotarys eventually (which is why I have been looking at the 108 also),

Thanks,
Scott
Sugar Grove, IL

andarlite
01-11-2008, 10:17 AM
Scott

The KE-72 was available before the USB cards, so that may be a reason why you see more people using them. Even when the USB versions became available, most people tend to go with what they are familiar with so they will buy another KE-72 when they need to expand. I don't see any advantage of the KE-72 over the USB cards you mentioned..... as a matter of fact, there are probably more advantages to using the USB ones (eg. less cables for one.... if you are using the KE-72 with XP, then you also need a serial cable in order to download the macros). The USB108 also allows you to connect up rotary encoders (the KE-72 requires you to buy an extra interface board). I would go for the USB108 if I were you.
Make sure you also get the breakout boards.

Regards,
Henry

XOrionFE
01-11-2008, 06:19 PM
Thanks Henry

That is kinda what I was thinking. Just wanted to make sure I wasnt missing something.