PDA

View Full Version : Generic design - software

desjardins
12-01-2007, 08:11 AM
Hi,

I have a general idea of the type of project that I would like to build but I an wondering about the software.

I would like to build a generic project based on the bit's that I like from all aircraft cockpits, and also whatever I can find out on the market. This way I can have it exactly as I like, and not be constrained by dimentions and specifics.

I want to build a heavy 4 engine turbo prop, and I would like the flight model as realistic as possible and to use real flight performance data/manuals. As I am not a physicist my idea would be to download an acurate flight model of an existing aircraft such as a Hercules or a Shorts Belfast and use that.

However when it comes to systems I want them to be completely my own design (anyway I will be making my own panels so....)

How will I interface them with a simulator and make them 'work'? I am not a computer programer!!!

what is the best sim to use, MSFS, X-Plane etc? And will I have to write my own code to get the systems working?

I would also like to make analog guages by using stepper motors or the like, can this be interfaced?

Basicly I'm just wondering how much work I will be facing when it comes to the software side of things because although I'm good with my hands, when it comes to computers - I'm useless!!!

Cheers

Rich

Trevor Hale
12-01-2007, 10:03 AM
Hi Rich,

I can tell you that it wont be as hard as you may think.

First off, My suggestion to you is us MSFS as it is the easiest platform to interface to. Most interfaces on the market connect or communicate through FSUIPC (an add-on for MSFS)