Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Qns for Parameter for B744

    Hi all,



    I would like to ask if anyone of u all know wat are the things/criteria that can control the APU n1 of B744? Pls help mi out. Thank


    regards,
    raymtoh

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Why would you need to adjust N1 of the APU?

    APU's are designed to run at a constant speed so the generator will supply the correct frequency and voltage to the aircraft busses.

    Unlike engine driven generators that require a constant speed drive unit.

    Maybe I am not fully understanding your question.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    As far I know the APU has a constant speed, so also a constant N1
    It is controlled by its own logics.
    B. RGds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    hi ,
    Coz i require that APUN1 should be 95 then the APU AVAIL light will be on but right now my condition is when APUN1 is 87 it will be on. Thank for ur reply

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sorry I misunderstood your question I think.

    Will I know in the original file the B744 APU values are far to low - also for spool up or downtime.

    I changed the entry at which N1 the APU comes available :
    "if apun > 87
    apustartavail = 1"

    but I think 87 was the highest I could have. In fact it should go to 100%. The spool up time was changed to 40 and down to 50.

    But how you can change the N1 it self in PMsys , I don't have an idea .
    Maybe Thomas can help here ?

    B. Rgds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well you could in your logic file set

    XXXAPUN1VARIABLEXXX=95

    The same as you can set your bleed Air pressure in the logics. However this would change from the value you set if you stopped the APU or started it again.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Aha thanks a lot Trevor Will test that
    Maybe you can help me with the following also.

    The PSI factor for the bleedair for a B744 is far to low in the present file (20/23)

    -With APU on - both bleedair Valves open + 3 packs = value should be 28
    -During engines start - or 1 engine running = 22
    -All 4 engines running + APU still on = 39
    -All 4 engines running - no APU = 34 which remains during flight.

    Thanks for suggestions

    B. rgds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    hi Trevor,

    For this XXXAPUN1VARIABLEXXX=95 , What is the offset for this? Wat is the XXX? I cant find this variable in the sysvars.Thank

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi all,



    I manage to ctrl APU n1 but the value is wrong. It is using the APUN offset. but for the APUN it is use for APU n2 also. when i put APUN =95 only the APUN2 will rise to 95. then when i put APUN=250 the APUn1 will rise to 250(as shown in the pic given). Did anyone know about this problem and how to solve it? thank

  10. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by michelmvd View Post
    Aha thanks a lot Trevor Will test that
    Maybe you can help me with the following also.

    The PSI factor for the bleedair for a B744 is far to low in the present file (20/23)

    -With APU on - both bleedair Valves open + 3 packs = value should be 28
    -During engines start - or 1 engine running = 22
    -All 4 engines running + APU still on = 39
    -All 4 engines running - no APU = 34 which remains during flight.

    Thanks for suggestions

    B. rgds
    Michel

    Hi Michel,
    I think u can set it through Pmsystem logic.I think the offset Bleedpsi1 or bleed1psi...

Similar Threads

  1. RAL colr B744 Panels
    By Farny in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-10-2008, 01:20 PM
  2. Qns on some parameter in sysvars
    By raymtoh in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 11:47 PM
  3. engine parameter control
    By dicksonlee in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-25-2007, 04:19 AM
  4. B744 engine
    By dicksonlee in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-08-2007, 11:16 AM