Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mini pushbutton switches for Korrys?

    Hi

    Does anyone know the name or type of these mini push button On/OFF switches that's in this tutorial for Korry switches? Each time I think I find one, they are too expenive, Momentary, or too big. I just simply need a small on/off pushbutton with a narrow, long shaft to mount into the acrylic.

    See: http://home.hccnet.nl/jwopdenakker/building%20tip.html
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's not an on off switch it just a momentary. The interface software makes it work like an on off... Thats why you are having trouble finding it...
    Bob Reed

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Really? Not so sure about that Bob. I know the REAL a/c has On/Off switches for their Korrys for the majority of them. I do see what your saying though- just install a momentary and tell it to 'latch'. Only problem is that I cant seem to get this to work in InterfaceIT and there are conflicting 'stories' on that issue. One post at FDS says that it's not possible to 'latch' an assignment via momentary switches, while someone else says it should be possible with the current release of InterfaceIT. I do know that Phidgets has the 'latching' possibility. I will try it again tonight to see if I can make that work. If so, then Im good to go because there are tons of small momentary switches for very little.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomlin View Post
    Really? Not so sure about that Bob. I know the REAL a/c has On/Off switches for their Korrys for the majority of them. I do see what your saying though- just install a momentary and tell it to 'latch'. Only problem is that I cant seem to get this to work in InterfaceIT and there are conflicting 'stories' on that issue. One post at FDS says that it's not possible to 'latch' an assignment via momentary switches, while someone else says it should be possible with the current release of InterfaceIT. I do know that Phidgets has the 'latching' possibility. I will try it again tonight to see if I can make that work. If so, then Im good to go because there are tons of small momentary switches for very little.
    Real may be so, but we are not talking about real here. Those switches in that tutorial are momentary.. "latching" is a basic function and I would think that InterfaceIt could do that. I know it could back in it's beta days as I was able to do it. It's just a bit flip... Trip the bit it's on, trip the bit again, it is off.....
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    I posted in the fds forum but removed it due to the fact that Pete also sells some hardware as well.

    http://www.alltronics.com/cgi-bin/it...hbutton-Switch

    Gary

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Gary, this looks almost exactly what I had in mind and the price too! Bob, Im working right now to try the latching in IT.

    Thanks
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Contact Mouser Electronics on the web and request a paper catalog. They send them quarterly.

    No sim builder should be without this catalog.

    Shipping is fast, they are centrally located, and they are very knowlegable about their products.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Already scoured thru it. Im thinking the Altronics switch will work just fine.

    For what it's worth, I have just tried every possible combination I can think of to cause a momentary to switch a function ON then stay ON till pressed again, to turn it OFF. No joy. SY3/InterfaceIT
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  9. #9
    Hmmm Interesting. So what happens when you press L for lights. Do the lights come on then go off as soon as you release the switch or do they stay on until you press the switch again. The later is how it should work. If not first thing to check is that you have a NO type switch and not a NC. Just to add if your practising with a spst type switch this might be the problem. I do remember that to use the lights as an example again, to turn them off some people had to flip the switch on, off, then on again to turn the lights off. I did think this was fixed though.

    Gary

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Gsey View Post
    Hmmm Interesting. So what happens when you press L for lights. Do the lights come on then go off as soon as you release the switch or do they stay on until you press the switch again. The later is how it should work. If not first thing to check is that you have a NO type switch and not a NC. Just to add if your practising with a spst type switch this might be the problem. I do remember that to use the lights as an example again, to turn them off some people had to flip the switch on, off, then on again to turn the lights off. I did think this was fixed though.

    Gary
    Project Magenta does this for some offsets. The first time you press the switch sets the bit, then you have to rest the bit before you can switch the bit to off. This is just how PM does some offsets.
    Bob Reed

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Boeing 777-300 Korrys for sale!!!!!!!
    By edo17982 in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-15-2010, 02:37 PM
  2. Led pushbutton switches, leds and more!
    By Drewsta in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 01:04 PM
  3. Dualencoder with pushbutton
    By Georg Schneider in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-29-2009, 01:24 PM