Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Flight sim fuel flow

    Hi,

    I have a problem with fuel flow display on lower eicas ( I am using promagenta glass cockpit and MSFS2004 B744). I try to monitor the fuel flow value but sometimes my lower eicas shows the fuel flow value and sometimes don't.
    Can anyone help me out for this problem?

    And does anyone know what offset to use to control the fuel flow? I have tried several from Peter Dowson FSUIPC offset list, but the fuel flow seem doesn't affected by the offsets that I used.

    Thank you

    Regards
    ****sonlee

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by ****sonlee View Post
    And does anyone know what offset to use to control the fuel flow? I have tried several from Peter Dowson FSUIPC offset list, but the fuel flow seem doesn't affected by the offsets that I used.
    The throttles (thrust levers) control fuel flow. Nothing else that I know of -- unless you want to cut off fuel altogether, in which case there's the fuel switches (selectors for different tanks) and of course the idle/cutoff switch used to shut down the engine entirely.

    Regards

    Pete

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Dowson View Post
    The throttles (thrust levers) control fuel flow. Nothing else that I know of -- unless you want to cut off fuel altogether, in which case there's the fuel switches (selectors for different tanks) and of course the idle/cutoff switch used to shut down the engine entirely.

    Regards

    Pete
    Hi Pete,

    So you mean these offsets such as,
    08A0
    2
    Engine 1 Fuel Flow PPH SSL

    0918
    8
    Engine 1 Fuel Flow Pounds per Hour, as floating point double (FLOAT64)
    cannot be used to control fuel flow display on EICAS screen directly by writing logic in the pmSystem?
    For instance, we write "E1FF = 16384" in pmLogic // 08A0 2 E1FF has been defined in sysvar
    And you mean the fuel flow can only be controlled through the use of throttle instead of writing certain value directly to the offset as describe above?

    Thanks

    Regards

    ****sonlee

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by ****sonlee View Post
    So you mean these offsets such as,
    08A0
    2
    Engine 1 Fuel Flow PPH SSL

    0918
    8
    Engine 1 Fuel Flow Pounds per Hour, as floating point double (FLOAT64)
    cannot be used to control fuel flow display on EICAS screen directly by writing logic in the pmSystem?
    Of course not. They are the RESULTS of the engine burning fuel according to the thrust lever settings. How do you think the simulation system should deal with some change to fuel flow output values -- reduce the throttle levers? Were you expecting some reversal of cause-and-effect?

    And you mean the fuel flow can only be controlled through the use of throttle instead of writing certain value directly to the offset as describe above?
    Precisely. Doesn't that seem quite logical and normal to you? How would you control fuel flow in an aircraft, otherwise?

    Regards

    Pete

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Why would you want to write to the FF other then moving the throttle? Maybe if you tell us what you are trying to do we can give you an idea how to do it.
    Bob Reed

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sounds like to configure for a different aircraft?

    best,

    ...............john

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by JBaymore View Post
    Sounds like to configure for a different aircraft?

    best,

    ...............john
    Hi John! Again this does not make sense. The FF is read from Flight Sim which gets it's data from the aircraft cfg file. Change aircraft and the FF changes which is shown in PM. PM only reads what FS is reporting. So if there is something different you want to show, change the aircraft cfg file. Am I missing something here? Just trying to help!
    Bob Reed

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    Hi John! Again this does not make sense. The FF is read from Flight Sim which gets it's data from the aircraft cfg file. Change aircraft and the FF changes which is shown in PM. PM only reads what FS is reporting. So if there is something different you want to show, change the aircraft cfg file. Am I missing something here? Just trying to help!
    Bob,

    I don;t use PM....so I am guessing here.

    But for example, you have the PM setup for the 737. While it reads the values from the FS output...... does it not set stuff like "red line" on gauges to the specs for the 737? So if the red line for aircraft X is different...... the PM stuff does not reflect that?

    Otherwise I can't see any reason to do this either. Even in that situation it is a stretch.

    best,

    .................john

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you want to change the fuel flow of the aircraft, Change the fuel flow scalar in the aircraft.cfg file that should accomplish your task.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mycockpit.org

    Ah, Trevor, I think that may be what the original poster is attempting? Maybe not though.

    Speaking of 'red lines'. I have already attempted to have PM give us thrust trend indicators for the PMRJ software and Enrico said he'd look into it.

    Regarding redlining though, is there a way to go into the ini file and put in info based off the real aircraft that will show red lines in PMRJ if limits are exceeded? I have the rw data per the Bombardier books.

    Thanks-and hopefully we can determine how to help ****sonlee.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fuel Flow
    By Oter3 in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-17-2008, 08:41 PM
  2. Fuel Flow
    By Oter3 in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-17-2008, 08:41 PM
  3. Fuel Flow Control
    By raymtoh in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 05:34 AM
  4. Fuel Flow during start
    By Cary Green in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 09:38 PM
  5. Fuel Flow during start
    By Cary Green in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 09:38 PM