Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Brakes in rudder pedals wiring

    Hello

    I am working in the brakes in the rudder pedals and i want to ask if someone he knows how can i connect them.
    The left pilot brake with the left co-pilot brake AND
    the right pilot brake with the right co-pilot brake.

    I think is good to ask before try and spend time in experiment.

    My first though is to connect the 2 left brakes with 2 potentiometer and to send them together to the card as one.

    But i don`t know what will hapen if and pilot and co-pilot push the left brake the same time.

    Any thoughts?

    Best regards
    Lambis
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Lambis.

    Electronic Principals 101. When you connect 2 Resistors in parallel they divide each other.

    ie. 10K in parallel with 10K = 5K

    The issue you will have as 2 potentiometers in parallel, the resistance would be all over the place.

    This equals a bad thing.

    If you put them in series, you would not get enough movement on your card until both pilot and first officer used the brakes at the same time.

    This equals a bad thing.

    The only way you can do this to connect them to the same point on the input board is use switches. Wire the left brakes in parallel, and right brakes in parallel.

    Otherwise use potentiometers and use 4 inputs on your interface.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Trev

    The only way you can do this to connect them to the same point on the input board is use switches. Wire the left brakes in parallel, and right brakes in parallel.

    So the best way you say is to use switches right?

    Otherwise use potentiometers and use 4 inputs on your interface.

    4 inputs ?

    I think this is not possible.
    There is exist only one assigment for each brake.

    If a assing the left pilot brake to the FSUIPC left brake, How to assing the second co-pilot brake to the same FSUIPC left brake.

    They will replace it.

    Except and if you mean something else and i don`t understand it.

    Also i have attach 2 photos of my rudder pedals.

    Lambis

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Lambis. According to FSUIPC's Manuel you can assign multiple axes to the same assignment. That is according to theory, I have not been able to get it to work right yet... I know it is me doing something wrong....
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Lambis777 View Post

    So the best way you say is to use switches right?
    This is the easiest way to achieve what you propose. yes!
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I will ask Peter Maybe he tell me how to assign multiple axes in the assigment.
    And if this not work i will use swithes.

    Thank you both for the help.

    Lambis

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie pdpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    280
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You can also use something like USB axes card or the analogue inputs form the USB expansion card from opencockpits. The SIOC scripting language allows you
    then to sum up the left and right brake action and then get it out to FS

    Just a tought
    Peter

Similar Threads

  1. 737 Rudder Pedals
    By ian@737ng.co.uk in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 04:39 PM
  2. Rudder Pedals
    By coppermasonry in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2009, 05:51 PM
  3. 737 Rudder Pedals
    By colaboy in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-18-2008, 09:24 AM
  4. wiring up ch pedals to joystick
    By bindook in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-26-2007, 02:50 AM