Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Can you use FS2Phidget for FSX??

    Hi All,

    Can someone tell me if you can use fs2phiget on FSX or is it only for FS9 and previous versions.

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member James Twomey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Port Orchard Wa, U.S.
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello,

    I use Phidgets for FSX and it works great. I use Phidgets to control my PM systems on another computer.

    Regards,
    James

  3. #3
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Oh ok i will keep working on it i cant seem to get anything to work off it properly, im new at this, ive got as far as being able to move a servo through the calibration section but thats all.
    Feel free to throw any hints my way on how to get it to work with FSX.

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member James Twomey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Port Orchard Wa, U.S.
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What is it you are trying to do? I havent played with Servo's yet.... I have been mostly working with switches for the overhead panel.

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok basically i want to build a console of guages with the servo motor controllers.
    I have used the FS2phidget program and so far i have managed to, when starting a flight to get it to rotate one way but then it stops???
    I want to create like an airspeed indicator, rpm etc. I ve used the values provided in the FSUIPC but i think im getting somthing wrong.
    Im not a programmer so i know very little about setting up values etc.
    Any guidance would be appreciated.

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member James Twomey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Port Orchard Wa, U.S.
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sorry to say, but you are trying to work in an area that I never have dealt with. I wouldn't be able to help you with your efforts. The one that would really know, as he designed the program, is Alan Dyer. You could try and send him a private message and see if he is able to better help you.

    Sorry that I'm not more knowledgeable to help you in this project of yours.

    Regards,
    James

  7. #7
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Servos of the that are typically used for RC applications have a range of travel of around 180 to 240 degrees.

    RC Servos can be hacked or purchased off-the-shelf that rotate contiuously, but can only be stopped or started. i.e cannot be positioned.
    "Round-and-around she goes, where she stops no-one knows.

    However, a rotary sensor (rotary pot or encoder) could be attached to a continuous servo (or any DC motor, or linear actuator for that matter) to sense actual position and some controlling software could issue stop-start signals at the desired position.

    FS2Phidget currently does not have this functionality.

    After I have completed testing program with Phidget21 (in beta at present)
    that I am developing a general purpose motor control for:
    - linear actuators
    - a low RPM DC motors
    - continuous servos

    Will use choice of analog input or high speed encoder to sense position.

    Controlling motor direction and positioning is intended to be with Interfacekit 0/0/4 relays.

    All comments and requests are welcome.

    Regards,
    Alan.

Similar Threads

  1. FS2Phidget 4.2.9
    By CocnutAir in forum FS2Phidget Releases
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 03:14 PM
  2. Can fs2Phidget do the following ?
    By abretten in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-02-2009, 07:43 PM
  3. FS2Phidget Help?
    By Holclo in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-12-2009, 09:40 AM
  4. Where to put FS2PHIDGET....
    By Flightsim Phil in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2008, 01:28 PM
  5. Fs2Phidget 3.1
    By alandyer in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-13-2005, 07:39 AM