Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Tools

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Tools

    Hi everyone i was just wondering what sort of tools i will need for building the panels and such and is there ways i could do it cheaper other than renting the tools.

    Thanks
    Johnathan

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I would suggest the following to be most important.

    (1) Jig Saw
    (2) Table Saw
    (3) Dremmel
    (4) Cordless Drill and Bits
    (5) Hot Melt Glue Gun
    (6) Soldering Iron
    (7) Router

    That should get you started.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey thanks Trevor i have all of that stuff except the table saw but I'm sure I'll be able to do with out one for a while

  4. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,485
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I agree with Trevor but would be lost without my upright bandsaw that only cost $180.

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Also a good compass, dividers, an acurate steel rule, and a good mechanical pencil.

    Good lighting is a big plus too.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,485
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Should I include my trusty vernier caliper? (Which I read through my new specs!) I used to be able to see the scales...

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have a dail caliper and a digital caliper. I haven't used either one very much during my build. But then all of my panels where cut for me by Boeing. They might come in handy for making your own.

    I get a lot of use out of the various steel rules I have.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    And dont forget the most important tool of them all: The coffee machine

  9. #9
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,485
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by ivar hestnes View Post
    And dont forget the most important tool of them all: The coffee machine
    It's hot downunder mate, make it the beer fridge!

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I drink coffe in the morning no matter the temp.

    I don't drink as much in the summer, but you can bet Juan Valdez I get at least two cups in if not four.

    Right now I'm enjoying a cool Hofbrähaus from Munich. I just picked up a fresh case for my holiday this week.

    Unfortunately (or fortunately depending on if you are controlling or flying) I won't be doing any flying until I figure out this #1 throttle problem I'm having.

    Swapped out assignments on the card for #1 and #3 throttle and #1 was working for engine 3, but #3 throttle wans't working for #1 engine. That led me to believe it was the contact on the card. But no, after changing the contact for throttle #1 on the card to another pin, FSUIPC did not recognize the axis, nor did FS.

    Pot checks good according to my Fluke and I get the same readings from the other pots.

    Now I'm stumped. I'm ready to reload everything and start over. I've never been this stumped before, even when nothing was working. I eventually did get things working, but this #1 throttle really has me. It's been a week now on and off, and I still can't figure out what's wrong with #1 throttle control.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pre WIN7 Useful Installation Tools
    By Prof Bill in forum Microsoft Windows 7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-21-2009, 05:34 AM
  2. PMSounds won't run when ATI Tray Tools is running
    By Ray Proudfoot in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-03-2007, 07:32 PM
  3. Experience Pack for Tablet PC: fun toys and real tools
    By MS Expert Zone RSS Feed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 11:30 AM