Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hotspot gone......

    Hi all, i have posted some pictures of my visual setup. the first 2 pics i put up were when i was using a sheet. It showed up the hotspot of the projector nearly 100% & the scenery was a bit blurry. So i tried out a plastic table cover in white & grey. The shots are i have taken were used with the white sheet & straightaway you notice the hotspot gone. All you see is a little orange mark & the scenery is clearer.


    Michael
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - FSX - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN -

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie QF6228's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    199
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Those shots look really good mate
    Sheet needs a little iron

    Damien

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The reason the sheets are like that is the smallest i could find was 2x 3m & it was folded up. Or i could by a 25m roll for $25.00??? This was a test & if it is ok then i might have to buy the roll. AND DON"T TRY ironing it......... i tried it with a cloth sheet & didn't work


    Michael
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - FSX - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN -

  4. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm interested in this idea as I am using a 230 threadcount sheet too. I don't really have a hot spot because the projector is ceiling mounted 3.5metres away and the cockpit roof keeps it out of view unless you lean forward to see it. Projectors placed on the floor remove the hotspots too. I agree with the "bit blurry" image on the sheet and will try the white plastic. My screen frame is 40mm PVC pipe with 4 elbows glued together in a 16:9 aspect, my sheet has velcro stitched to it at 6" spacing like trampoline springs and there are stick on velcros on the frame. It's easy to stretch it tight and stick on velcro would stick to the white plastic to make an easy refit.
    Cheers Bindook,

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looks good Bindook. What distance is your projector from the screen? Is it straight back-projected or are you bouncing off a mirror?
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The projector sits in front of the sim which projects onto the mirror back onto the screen, the distance is about 1.5m.

    The photo i took was looking into the mirror.

    Michael
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - FSX - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN -

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    So using a mirror to bounce it back almost eliminates the hotspot since it's at such an angle?

    Last night in the old social hall at church, I walked in and the projector was on and luckily the tile floor sizes are 12" tile, and so I counted the space off from the projetor to the screen. It was roughly 18 feet away, and a huge image, perfect for FS. My simulator hangar is 16.5 x 16.5 feet and I think that I should be able to get a good distance to project,depending on how the sim is positioned in the room.

    My plan is to eventually use the Triple Head 2 Go and 3 projectors and most likely bounce off of mirrors. I have one that is available to use for testing once I get moved from my home office out back to the hangar, but that's a little while since I have to hang some drywall and buy a a/c unit for this hot weather.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bindook, could you tell me what projector this is, and the angle of the light hitting the mirror?

    Also, what kind of mirror did you use.. just a "regular" one?

    My setup is also about 1.5m away, and in my calculations I have difficulty checking if a projector setup is gonna work ok. But since your doing the same I guess it does

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bas,
    i'm using a kodak proj, about 5yrs old but works great. the projector sits on a desk in front of the mirror, no angle.

    Its a special mirror foil, i get a image of about 2.2m wide.



    Michael
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - FSX - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN -

  10. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Now I am a bit lost..

    So its like this?



    [1. sim, facing ->] [2. mirror foil] [3. projector facing <-]


    ...and between 2 and 3 is 1.50m? I assume the mirror is straight up at 90 degrees? The reason I am asking so much is that I have more or less the same setup.. and if I could do it the same way it would be just excellent

    Oh btw, so its 220 wide, and how high?

    Thanks!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast