Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Wireing

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wireing

    This is me. Trying to wire me pit. HHHHHEEEELLLLPPPP.

    Whats up BOB. I have My yoke in front of me. I'ts in 2 halfs.

    On the left hand I have 4 momentary switches and a push switch. On the Right I have a push button switch. Bob. I have cat 5 cable. lots of little wires all differnt colors.

    Like this
    Attached Images Attached Images
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What you have drawn looks fairly easy. What is the problem in wiring it all together?
    You did not ask anything specific. Are you wondering about polarity, or voltage requirements...???
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What interface are we working with? This should be pretty easy.... If you are using a joystick card... Which one?
    Bob Reed

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    What interface are we working with? This should be pretty easy.... If you are using a joystick card... Which one?
    Hi Bob! Please keep in mind that I know nothing about this. All I know is that the wires are different colors Polarity?? Doeo's it have to been pointing north or something ?

    Thanks for the replies. I'm going to use a USB axe card from opencockpits.

    I appreciate you help. I'm off to work. Got to drive 300 k tonight . It's a shot haul. See you later.
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Can you give me a link to the card you are going to use? And we will get all these switches wired!
    Bob Reed

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Radar,

    In order to work, a switch has to make a complete circuit so that electrical energy can flow. A simple "switch" could be described by you taking the end of one wire and then touching it to the end of another wire.

    Now you need to have something supplying a bit of electrical energy into the wires so that there can be some current flow. Enter your "interface card". For many of these cards, all you need to do is connect a pair of wires to the terminals on the card .... one being a "positive" connection and one being a "ground" or "negative" connection. The card supplies the electricity at the appropriate level both in voltage and in current (amperage).

    To have the switch "make" (or "on") you just have to connect the positive lead to the ground (negative) lead. So the posts on one side of the switch have one of the wires hooked to it, and the OTHER post on the switch gets the ground lead. Ditto on the interface card. When you push the switch / flip the switch / rotate the switch the positive line then connects to the negative, current flows, and the card "knows" that the switch has been set to "on".

    When you open the switch ("break").... the opposite happens.... current flow stops. Again the card knows this has happened ... and does whatever it is supposed to do. (Hopefully! )

    For many interface cards, you can have one common ground for multiple positive leads. That saves a LOT of wiring. You tie all of the negative leads for all of the switches together to OPNE line back to the interface card.

    I use a lot of Cat5 cable in my pit also. Just designate for you own use which color will be the ground lead color (typical electrical ground leads are green or black) ....and stick with that throughout the WHOLE pit. It'll make your life easier in the long run. I also use wire labels on the ends of the Cat5 to identify WHICH card it is coming from, and thenn there is a booklet ("aircraft maintenence manual" ) that I have that identifies each Cat5 cable and what each color coded wire is hooked up to.

    Hope this helps a little.

    best,

    ................john

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    Can you give me a link to the card you are going to use? And we will get all these switches wired!
    Here you go Bob.
    http://www.opencockpits.com/modules....e=get_iocardsi
    scroll down to usbaxis card.

    Thanks JBaymore, and Andy.
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Guys!

    If someone could tell me where these wires go. I would apreciate it.

    And thanks to the guys who replied.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Red face

    The simple answer is: It does not matter which wire you use. Of course there are some other factors in this you will want to be aware of. If you can wait a few days I should have my Tutorial complete on this subject.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cool. Thanks Andy.
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

Similar Threads

  1. Wireing Diagram
    By davemckee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2009, 02:23 PM
  2. Wireing and Soldering
    By Peter Nielsen in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-01-2007, 08:56 AM
  3. 10K pot wireing?
    By QF6228 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-10-2007, 09:10 PM