Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Work ongiong

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up Work ongiong

    Quote Originally Posted by Trevor Hale View Post
    Radar,

    I am looking to see some updates from you. How did your switches work out. How is the project going?
    Well,Trevor!

    I still haven't ordered my switches. I just don't know how to order from Moussers . But I found this great site http://www.maplin.co.uk and have a order all ready to go.

    The issue for me right now is yoke axis. Should I be using slider pots here? If so , what kind and what travel?

    Mike
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It's easier to order from Mouser with a paper catalog. I don't care for the internet site as to me, it's a jumble of pages and you can't see as much at one time as you can in the catalog.

    It's also more time consuming to flip pages on the site than it is in the catalog.

    To order from Mouser, all you need is the part number. If you need to speak to a tech, they will transfer you over to the tech department.

    Shipping will be higher from the UK, and I doubt they have anything that Mouser doesn't carry or can get. Save yourself some money and use Mouser.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I too order a lot of my stuff from Mouser. I use the big book! And then I go to the web site and order by part number that I already had from the catalog. Log into there site and order one (catalog). I also use the catalog for research when I am looking for a particular type of switch or so forth. I would not order from eh UK.... You are also going to get stuck with an import duty!
    Bob Reed

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    OK. Catelog on order. THKs Guys.
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    O would use a slider pot for Elevator access as that is what I found works best. as for aileron, I have had great luck with a round Pot.

    If you feel more comfortable call Mouser and place an order through an agent, They can ask you all the questions and explain to you your options. Excellent customer service.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Use round pots for your yoke. A slider only allows a couple of inches of travel.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyT View Post
    Use round pots for your yoke. A slider only allows a couple of inches of travel.
    Hi Andy, I get 2 inches of travel for my slide pot at the base of my Yoke and almost 8 inches at the top of my yoke. I don't know of a yoke that moves more then that.

    Could you please show me what your doing? It would help me to understand better.

    Thanks.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What I said is dependant on how he mounts the pots to his yoke and the design of it. That's why I asked for pix. I DID ask for pix right?
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyT View Post
    What I said is dependant on how he mounts the pots to his yoke and the design of it. That's why I asked for pix. I DID ask for pix right?
    LOL You asked Boeing to see Pix of his yoke. Not Radar. It's Radar that asked if slide pots would work ROFL... Can I offer you a coffee sir? LOL

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    How about I just get some sleep instead?
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Do you think this would work
    By weshollett in forum Video Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2009, 05:49 AM
  2. Do you think this will work?
    By Jake 747 400 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-2009, 10:14 AM
  3. Will This Work On My Pc?
    By AlexJ in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-21-2009, 01:10 AM
  4. Some more work done on the MIP...
    By Fuglsang in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-2007, 02:01 PM
  5. Do you think this could work?
    By Tomlin in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-15-2007, 10:53 AM