Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Hans Krohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Navigation lights too big when using a beamer

    Hi,

    I started to use my new visual system with 3 beamers. 12 x 3 feet projection area... the new level of immersion is still blowing my mind. Or to put it another way: My wife started to stop by and actually watch me fly for a while

    Just one small problem (ther is ALWAYS a small problem in cockpits, isn't there...?):

    With the beamers, the navigation lights on the airplanes and approach lights on the airports are way too big. Is there any known way to reduce their size?

    Thx and best regards,
    Hans

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes there is a way to fix that... But I do not remember how. Maybe someone here does?
    Bob Reed

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yeah...... for part of it in the fs9.cfg file. There is something like runway_lights_scalar or something like that....can't remember right now. If I remember correctly you cahnge the value there and it increases/decreases the size. Ther are other obviously named "scalar" entries too that cover some other stuff.

    WHen I get a chance... I'll check and get back on this.

    EDIT:

    Here is one section of the fs9.cfg

    [DISPLAY]
    UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT=20
    TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=100
    TextureMaxLoad=5 //added 10/30/06 tried 10 and down
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_SURFACE_SCALAR=1.2
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_VASI_SCALAR=1.0
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_APPROACH_SCALAR=1.0
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_STROBE_SCALAR=1.5


    best,

    .....................john

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile

    Try these out. They are on Avsim :
    xenon3.zip
    airport_lighting_v2.zip
    aht5.zip

    Cheers...............Brian W.

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ok guy's , is it possible not to have a fs9.cfg file?? as i can't find mine. Done a search in the whole pc ....nothing!!!

    Michael
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - FSX - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN -

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    No not possible.. Do you have the PC setup so you can see hidden and system files?
    Bob Reed

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member pylet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Pole, Alaska
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It's a pain to find... mine is located here, C:\Documents and Settings\Lyle\Application Data\Microsoft\FS9.

    Good luck.
    Lyle Kirgan
    B737NG SSTD Owner

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    found it........how come it was never found when i did a search????
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - FSX - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN -

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by JBaymore View Post
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_SURFACE_SCALAR=1.2
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_VASI_SCALAR=1.0
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_APPROACH_SCALAR=1.0
    RUNWAY_LIGHTS_STROBE_SCALAR=1.5
    yep - thats them. They change the 'bloom' of the light source. With a smaller number you get more of a pinpoint of light, larger numbers create a wide light bloom. Projectors and the TripleHead2Go seem to accentuate the bloom effect.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Diego, CA USA
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    you have to have "show hidden files" checked in Folder Options...
    Steve

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Navigation Database
    By PittsburghLever in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 12:16 AM
  2. 3x 32ŽLCD or 3 Beamer setup for visualisation
    By cfg061 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-16-2008, 02:26 PM
  3. Info on my beamer setup available!
    By Hans Krohn in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-18-2007, 12:12 AM
  4. New Airline Navigation System Is Displayed
    By ekezz in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-01-2006, 01:01 AM