Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    144
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Brightness Control Panels

    Hi Guys,

    Been doing a bit of MIP construction this weekend and I'm wondering what most people do with the wiring of the light panels.
    Do most people just create dummy switches for things like AFDS floodlights,Main Panel lights,Background lights etc or are they actually wiring up dimmers etc?
    If so,how are you handling things like outboard/inboard du's ?
    Don't think FSUIPC models these sort of things do they?

    cheers

    Paul

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Not sure, but FDS just released a dimmer switch for use on the panels. It's a USB device, but I'm unsure how it controls the lights. Probably through PM like nearly everything else on the market.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Not sure on this.... But I do not think PM does dimming (other then there panels) either! It must be done with a FS offset. Will have to look to see if there is one.
    Bob Reed

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile

    Paul, if you are talking about backlighting and also overhead lighting, I use leds, white hi-power ones at usually 3.5 to 4.0 volts with a regulated power supply and a variable pot. in parallel with the voltage regulator pot that sets the original 3.5 or 4.0 volts.
    Brian W.

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    Not sure on this.... But I do not think PM does dimming (other then there panels) either! It must be done with a FS offset. Will have to look to see if there is one.
    Thats correct, you can use PM for dimming the screens (which looks absolutely cool when interfaced to a knob on the lower subpanels),

    But you CANT use PM to control the brightness of your panels. For this you will need some kind of electronics board.

    you can find circuit designs for this on the net. You will need a controller if you try to dimm a considerable amount of led's.

    We have one too, enabling to control brightnes of the leds in 3 diffferent sections. Thus enabling the control brightnes of captains side, F/O side and glare flood independently of eachoterh.
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    144
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for that.
    It now gives me some ideas to work on.
    Better than just having dummy switches.

    Paul

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    This is the best place for you get the regulator I was suggesting. Use the potentiometer which supplied with the kit to vary the voltage you need for leds and use 2 wires to an external 500 ohm pot. to vary the intensity of your leds.
    http://www.dse.com.au/cgi-bin/dse.st...uct/View/K3592
    Regards...............Brian W.

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    144
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Brian,
    I'll get down to dse on Wednesday and pick one up.

    cheers
    Paul

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I use 120V White Christmas lights for my panel back lighting, I have them connected to a dimmer in the overhead. However the dimmer will eventially be connected through a relay to the Battery switches, so that they will not work unless the Batteries are on.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member Westozy's missus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Perth,Western Australia
    Posts
    66
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Trevor Hale View Post
    I use 120V White Christmas lights for my panel back lighting, I have them connected to a dimmer in the overhead. However the dimmer will eventially be connected through a relay to the Battery switches, so that they will not work unless the Batteries are on.
    Hi guys - sorry but when it comes to lighting I know my stuff - a few candles and a bottle of wine goes a long way to making the trip memorable, if that helps any?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Boeing Glass Cockpit display brightness
    By cesarfsim in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-18-2009, 10:12 PM
  2. Glass Cockpit display brightness
    By cesarfsim in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2009, 09:27 PM
  3. LED-Brightness in LED64, to Alan
    By imported_EW321 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-27-2007, 06:20 AM
  4. Phidgets LED64 & Brightness
    By Rodney in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-29-2006, 11:00 PM
  5. LED64 Brightness
    By Jan Pemöller in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2006, 05:31 AM