Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict ekezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nieuw Vennep - Netherlands
    Posts
    339
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up Wire in the hole

    Today I had a small wiring feat! I had wondered and puzzeled over the schematics by Gert van der Winden for many hours how on earth he made the Bat switch power the overhead.

    Today I took an old computer power supply, hooked up a volt-meter to one of the yellow 12V output wires. Next I inserted a switch (to be Bat switch) into the green and black wire on the 20-connector molex. So way cool! When I set the switch to ON the meter showed 11,5 volts (I said it was old) and when I set the switch to OFF the meter showed 0,02 volts.

    Next I need to hook up my Phidgets boards to this power supply and the Bat switch will do it's job
    Last edited by ekezz; 04-08-2007 at 05:13 PM.
    Kester Meijer
    http://www.mycockpit.nl - to see my cockpit construction
    Certified De-Ice Supervisor EHAM

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey Kester,

    Next you will have to add some relays to also turn your screens off from the Bat switch as well
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Actually Trevor.. You won't... You can turn the PM screens off and on with an offset. So you can simulate turning them on and off.
    Bob Reed

Similar Threads

  1. Southwest Plane with hole makes emergency landing in Arizona
    By AlexJ in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2011, 08:46 AM
  2. how to wire it up?
    By AlexJ in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-17-2010, 02:33 PM
  3. LCD With HOLE through it!
    By AlexJ in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-03-2010, 03:32 PM
  4. What wire to use?
    By autocadplease in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-22-2009, 04:37 PM
  5. Fly By Wire
    By 3202b in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-17-2007, 12:12 PM