Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    switches,toggles...

    Hi to all of you .
    Bit of a silly question. Can I go into my local hardware store here in Canada and use
    30 degree rotary switch

    45 degree Rotary switch

    Large toggle switch and all other switches and rotorys I need for my project? Or do I need to go to a place like engravity. BTW Very nice products there.

    Mike

    BTW Trevor . Do you buy anything here in Canada for your project?
    Last edited by Radar; 04-01-2007 at 10:57 PM. Reason: add item
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You can use any kind of switches you want. Does not matter.
    Bob Reed

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    You can use any kind of switches you want. Does not matter.

    WOWZER Bob. That was quick. Thanks
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I would call Mouser Electronics and Digi-Key or visit their websites and request a FREE catalog.

    Mouser sends out a 1000+ page catalogue quarterly. Not sure about Digi-Key. I became a customer only in December of last year and have only placed one order with Digi-Key.

    You can find almost any kind of switch you need from these two catalogs.

    The downside is that they do not carry the Korry line which supplies almost all illuminated switches for both Boeing and Airbus.

    I don't think any distributor does. I think they sell direct though contract sales for commercial only, but I have been wrong before. Korry's prices are so high for the average builder that they pay us no mind for RFQ or questions via e-mail.

    One thing they have done to cut down on sim-builder traffic is publish their wiring diagrams of their switch series on thier website. Access is free and the schematics are invaluable for a builder using their products.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Radar View Post


    BTW Trevor . Do you buy anything here in Canada for your project?
    Yes I try to, I buy all my switches and LED's etc here. Saves on shipping charges.

    Sorry I didn't see this post earlier.

    Where in CA are you?

    It was easier when I lived in Toronto, a little harder up here in Northern Ontario, but I manage.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up

    Thanks guys.
    Trevor. I live in Dieppe NB Canada. Close to the famous Parlee Beach, or maybe you heard of magnatic hill.

    Any ways. Thanks for the help and I'll go visit my local kent or home depo.

    Mike
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    OOO Home depot will be quite Pricey, maybe you'd be better off ordering from Sayel, or Electrosonic in Toronto.

    I have ordered from Digikey and Mouser electronics as well.

    I bought all my computer equipment online at tigerdirect.ca

    Hope that helps.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up

    Ok! Here it is. Do you guys see anything that I should add or change. This just a small order to get me started.


    six 10K pots at about $3 each, (K=Ohms)
    .........................................................................................................................................................
    DUS
    4rotary switches (12 positions, 1 circuit) for the du's
    ....................................................................................................................................
    Autobrakes/Flaps
    3 rotary switches (8 positions, 1 circuit)
    2 CTS288 encoders
    1 ON-OFF-ON switch (spring loaded to the center)
    3 high efficiency amber leds
    1 high efficiency green led
    4 1000 ohms resistors
    ....................................................................................................................................
    Annunciators group (Captain's side)
    Components needed
    1 ON-OFF-ON switch (spring loaded to the center)
    1 ON-OFF switch (big)
    1 ON-OFF-ON switch
    4 high efficiency red leds
    15 high efficiency amber leds
    1 high efficiency green led
    15 1000 ohms resistors
    6 OMROM B3F 4050 keyswitch
    7 black micro buttons
    .................................................................................................................................................
    Landing gear
    3 high efficiency green leds
    3 high efficiency red leds
    6 1000 ohms resistors

    I appreciate all of you and respect all your work. Mike
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looks good to me buddy.

    Let me know how it works out.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

Similar Threads

  1. 16 aero toggles...
    By Jackpilot in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-08-2009, 09:36 AM
  2. Switches?
    By Drewsta in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-21-2008, 11:06 AM
  3. switches and more switches...
    By Jackpilot in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2008, 06:18 PM
  4. switches?
    By Brenton Hill in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-20-2007, 08:16 PM
  5. Toggle switches to momentary switches?
    By Patrik in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 10:58 AM