Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    68
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PMDG 737 model and FSX?

    Hi,

    I'm wondering if its possible to use the pmdg air file with PM and FSX now?

    Also, when PMDG upgrades their 737 to FSX, does that mean that their air file will be no longer available for use with PM as their 744? Should I go and buy the software ASAP just in case it is stopped?

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by 737aqua View Post
    I'm wondering if its possible to use the pmdg air file with PM and FSX now?
    Yes, but remember most of the parameters these days are in the CFG file, so you need that as well. You might want to make a few small changes to it, though, to take advantage of new things. Compare the FSX 738 CFG file with the PMDG FS2004 one.

    And it really depends on how much use you make of pmSystems, eg. for your overhead controls. The PMDG air file I use is one Thomas modified some time ago for proper starting with pmSystems. Otherwise I think the N2% doesn't rise far enough or stay long enough for the starter to work.

    Also, when PMDG upgrades their 737 to FSX, does that mean that their air file will be no longer available for use with PM as their 744?
    No idea on that one -- have they somehow stopped the air file and CFG being used without the panels? Not sure how that's accomplished.

    Regards

    Pete

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    68
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok, But its true that you can't use 744 PMDG file as I read. they changed it in comparison to the 737. Thanks.

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That is correct. To use the 737 PMDG with PM you have to remove all of the PMDG panels. If you try to remove all the panels from the PMDG747 it destroys how the aircraft works. So far this is not the case for the PMDG 737 but I can not say this will or will not happen in the future when they convert the 737 to work with FSX.
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Did PMDG do that on purpose (make it so the aircraft does not work when the panels have been removed)?

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Exclamation

    My opinion!!!!!! repeat My opinion!!!!! Yes they did it on purpose.
    Bob Reed

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That would be my opinion too I ownder if they know that alot of SIMPIT builders use there aircraft and how that would/will affect them. I have all the PMDG aircraft and someday i would love to build the 737 or even the 747 but for now i will keep building the cessna.

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    68
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    So, if I bought it now, I could still use that flight model with PM with FSX in the future even if they change it? Do you think I should rush out now and get it urgently? I hope they don't change it because i've heard its the best model out there for 737...what would one do without it, i heard the default FSX is like a flying brick from someone on avsim forum

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well.... If you buy it now no one says you have to update it. I think when they convert it to FSX if you want the new version you will have to buy it again. So if as the guys say you can make it work with FSX I will have to take look at it!
    Bob Reed

Similar Threads

  1. SIOC MCP 737 PMDG with PMDG 747 in fsx displays and leds don't work
    By dion73 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 07:02 AM
  2. Which 737 model for FS9 is best for PM?
    By ncleme in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-31-2008, 05:37 PM
  3. 737 Flight Model : is EVERYONE using PMDG ?
    By David Rogers in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-06-2007, 06:27 PM
  4. 737 flight model
    By steve diamond in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-05-2005, 10:28 PM
  5. Aircraft Model
    By Giuseppe Reda in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-31-2004, 11:04 AM