Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member mattford1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    LOS ANGELES CALIFORNIA
    Posts
    54
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    CDU 388 Locking Up

    I'm having issues with CDU 388 locking up at the splash screen. Has anyone else had this issue?

    Thanks,
    Matt

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Matt,
    Sometime ago I had this with the intermiate builds just before the present released one. They stopped at the Logoscreen when my Engravity Cdu was connected. At the end it was a connection issue with the hardware (usb). To many new com ports were created.
    In build 388 I did not notice such problem. My biggest bug with the present build is the problem of losing my entire route when selecting a arrival rwy or star after the route has been activated or inflight. Did anyone else notice that? I also note that when selecting an waypoint which comes later in the route, in order to go direct to it, the aircraft is turning very sharply to the new magenta route line instead of going from present position direct to the new active waypoint. It looks likes he first want to join the magenta line and then turn to the selected waypoint which is of course not the idea of the action.
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator JWS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    492
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm having the same problem when altering a STAR as Michel.

    Furthermore I'm having problems with entering decimal distances in the FIX page, like RAD/DIST 250/3.5. Most of the times the CDU changes 3.5 into another value or the fix turns out to be a few hundred miles away when entered into the LEGS page. Same thing happens with certain waypoints in the (pre-programmed) approaches that can be choosen on the ARR page.

    With respect to intercepting a course to a waypoint I have the impression that the FMC doesn't work like it should do. Let me try to explain.
    Suppose a part of the route is: VOR A - Int B - VOR C. From A to B is 78, from B to C is 110.
    Now when inbound for A on a 78 track, ATC tells you to fly heading 100 and join the 290 radial to C. You select 100 on the MCP and press HDG. Then place C at the top of the page (above A) and choose an intercept course of 110. If I'm right the a/c should follow hdg 100 (although you change to LNAV after having made the turn into course 100) until it reaches the radial, somewhere between B and C, and then turn towards C on a heading of 110. What actually seems to happen is that the a/c turns towards VOR C right away. I also believe that there should be a magenta dash-dot line from the a/c symbol towards the point where the magenta course between B and C is intercepted. Instead, the magenta line goes straight from the a/c towards C. Any ideas about this?

    JWS

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    180
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have the same problem as Michel and others too, that i reported many times...

    Plan mode not working, unable to change arrival rwy in flight unless reflyng the entire route!? as you explained, some holding problems....

    Is possible to have the basic function of a CDU working correctly and then expand/correct the other features?
    I didn't flyed for long time 'cause of those annoying bugs.
    Best regards,

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Red face

    I'm happy I'm not the only one who notice this. Programs can have sometimes very strange behaviors due to regional settings or so I think.
    But this seems to be a general bug. Let's hope Enrico can fix it, as this is indeed very much frustrating. Due to all kind of reasons I stopped developing my cockpit and sim flying for more than a year, and now that I resumed my project, I was rather surprised to see this bugs now in the CDU soft, as in the past that part was not a problem and is indeed a very basic operation item in every type of aircraft. Arrival RWY's or STAR are normally never set during the dep procedure (certainly not on a long haul flight). Maybe due to the introduction of the new navdata format lot's of things were changed ?

    What the FIX page intro concerns, aditionaly with what is said above, also distances bigger that 99 nm , can't be set either at this moment. CDU returns totally unreal distances. In real live with B744 the 300NM fix for exemple is used very frequently to mark the circle zones for the diversion airports and or equal time points (ETP's)

    LNAV is not active normally when flying in a distance of more than 3 or 5 mls away (not sure of my memory) of programmed route, so it should fly at least till a distance of 5 mls in HDG SEL mode and LNAV armed, before intercepting.

    Ciao
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Make sure you guys report this to PM's support address. support@projectmagenta.com Enrico is redesigning the way the CDU works and that is the problems you are running into.
    Bob Reed

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bob
    This has been done already as this is always the first thing I do and I suppose we will be contacted by Enrico as usual when he will have time to bring a new build out.
    Looks as Enrico is travelling a lot these days. On the other hand it is very interesting to share these information with other members of the forum as sometimes you don't know if the problem is with the software or related to your hardware. In this case I'm sure now it is general problem and I waiting patiently to have an update.
    B. Rgds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member BillTee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cameron Park, California USA
    Posts
    20
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thought that was about time for me to enter this thread.

    I am using CDU388, GC448, MCP418 with Aerosoft MCP and the PMDG 737 a/c. I have WideFS 6.72 and FSUIPC 3.73.

    I am having NO problems with any of the issues that you folks are experiencing.

    I wish you all well in overcoming those issues.

    Good luck, blue sky and tailwinds,

    Bill Trinidad
    California, USA

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member pylet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Pole, Alaska
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I too am not having having those problems but I did realize that my WideFS is out of date and after this flight I'll go out and update it. I am using PMDG B737-700 with no panel option for my aircraft of choice. Below is a copy of my pmFileCheck. Good luck all.

    ================
    pmFileCheck Build 36
    Opening Connections

    Local Path: C:\Documents and Settings\Lyle\My Documents\ProjectMagenta

    Checking Computer and User Name
    Local Computer Name: DELL
    Local User Name: Lyle

    FSUIPC/WideFS found!
    FSUIPC Version 3.73
    WideServer Version 6.7
    WideClient Version 6.7

    Flight Simulator Running
    Testing Framerate
    Avg / Min / Max: 20.9 / 11.3 / 30.6

    OK - GC Detected
    GC Build 448

    OK - FMC Detected (CDU or MCDU)
    FMC Build 388

    OK - A/P Detected (MCP or FCU)
    A/P Build 418

    Local DLL Files Found:
    pm.dll dated: 1/17/2006 8:22:27 AM

    Checking FS Path
    OK - Reported FS Path \\DELL\Flight Simulator 9\

    Trying to access FS Path
    OK - Read access to FS Path
    OK - Read/Write access to FS Path
    OK - Read/Write access to FS Path

    Wide Server reports:
    944516 Connected to computer "PFD" running WideClient version 6.700 (skt=3852) TCP
    945313 Connected to computer "LAPTOP" running WideClient version 6.700 (skt=3912) TCP
    945313 Connected to computer "GT1" running WideClient version 6.700 (skt=3932) TCP

    Looking for NETDIR from CDU
    Reported NetDir is: \\gt1\netdir\
    Checking PMNETDIR Path (FMC Generated Path)
    8 File(s) found in NetDir, last date is 3/25/2007 11:13:44 AM

    Checking FSPLANS Path (To Load/Save FS Flightplans)
    OK - Read/Write access to FSPLANS Shared Folder
    43 File(s) found in FSPLANS, last date is 3/25/2007 9:12:46 AM
    last flight plan file is KSTL-KDEN.PLN
    dated: 3/25/2007 8:53:44 AM

    Closing Everything

    3/25/2007 10:13:54 AM
    Lyle Kirgan
    B737NG SSTD Owner

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    So it looks that there are some regional setting issues then or type or computer configurations I suppose. Maybe a good idea to see if issues are coming up only in the B744 cdu or/and within European regions or so? I see that the 2 other guys who have the bad experience are living in Europe too. I'm running the CDU.exe on one pc together with the Capt PFD/ND. Windows Xp Service pack 2 - English but Belgian settings, plus Engravity cdu drivers.

    I used it to fly yesterday and all the mentions bugs came up again, even notice that when setting up the star after your route is setting (even on the ground) results in vanishing your route.
    Very very much frustrating

    Bill I see you are using the Aerosoft MCP747 too. Do you also experience the bad behavior when the speed change automaticaly to Mach speed. In B744 it change at FL290 from let's say 340 to M 0.86 In pfd it is done correctly , but the spd window in the Aerosoft MCP hardware goes to 400 (0.400) So then you have to dial very quickly to 860 otherwise you are in big trouble In the return from Mach to IAS it is working ok. I'm using the PM serial drivers.
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. B737 Overhead Locking switches
    By SorensenDK in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-05-2010, 09:46 AM
  2. FSX Locking up
    By richard hutchinson in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-21-2010, 03:35 AM
  3. Locking Levers - Where in find!!!
    By Anderson/SBSP in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-03-2009, 08:11 AM
  4. Locking window in place in FSX+
    By CoNa in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-24-2008, 09:11 AM
  5. Locking switches
    By arwinpoon in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2008, 05:35 PM