Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Madagascar - Antananarivo
    Posts
    30
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PM boeing new builts

    There are new builts for PM boeing suite ( gc448, mcp 418,... ) but no changes indication, do someone know something about that ?

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    There seems to be major bugfixes in the CDU, but one very annoying bug (- when selecting a STAR or arrival RWY, once your routing is set, or inflight, results in a complete mix up of your route and the aircrafts restarts /return to the beginning of your route -) is still there. I contacted support about this matter and hoping to receive an update about this.

    GC major graphics updates - addional flags - before IRS alignment is done (atleast for B744) Very nice - amber colours also updated.

    MCP : I don't know

    B. rgds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Madagascar - Antananarivo
    Posts
    30
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Michel.

    So best thing to do : try it ! I will do that tonight and see... and give feedback if I see something interresting else .

    Stephane

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by aluver View Post
    There are new builts for PM boeing suite ( gc448, mcp 418,... ) but no changes indication, do someone know something about that ?
    I have tried MCP418 and I had problems with it, so I had to go back to 416. What happened to me is that if I press the TOGA switch on my throttle assembly, the N1 light on the MCP does not light up, but the engines spool up anyway (I use the FDS MCP which is a great piece of hardware).

    Since I am using the offset for the N1 light to enable my servos in my autothrottle, the servos were not doing their thing. When I went back to MCP416, everything worked again as it should. I tried a couple of times with 418 with same bad results, so I'm sticking to 416 for now (414 OK as well).

    Maurice

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I know there has been a change for the B744. In the aerosoft MCP when pushing the TOGA switchesd, the THR led came up, and that was not correct for the B744. Only in the PFD annuciantors THR REF may come up. In the MCP418 this was corrected.
    Maybe this is related to your problem
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by michelmvd View Post
    I know there has been a change for the B744. In the aerosoft MCP when pushing the TOGA switchesd, the THR led came up, and that was not correct for the B744. Only in the PFD annuciantors THR REF may come up. In the MCP418 this was corrected.
    Maybe this is related to your problem
    Michel
    It probably is related. In the list of PM offsets, there isn't one actually for the N1 light on the MCP. In fact, that offset is actually named 'THR' and not N1 (04F0 bit 10).

    I got an answer from Jonathan at PM. He said that this is the correct behaviour. According to him, the N1 light on the MCP should not light up when you press the TOGA switch on the throttle quad. If that is really true, then I'm pretty sure I'll be able to use another offset to enable my servos rather than the N1 light offset.

    I'm curious though if there are any real Boeing 737 pilots in this forum who could confirm this. I'm pretty sure Jonathan is probably right, but I would feel better with confirmation from a current 737 pilot (although it does look like the 737 is similar to the 744 in that respect with the difference just being the name used ..THR vs N1)

    Thanks,
    Maurice

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    This is exactly the kind of feedback we require. Thanks Maurice.

    This PM forum, is not monitored by the folks at Project Magenta, in fact, what Maurice has done here is exactly how we intend the Pm section to work. To discuss issues and suggestions that the staff at PM have responded to.

    Kudo's to you.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by mauriceb View Post
    It probably is related. In the list of PM offsets, there isn't one actually for the N1 light on the MCP. In fact, that offset is actually named 'THR' and not N1 (04F0 bit 10).

    I got an answer from Jonathan at PM. He said that this is the correct behaviour. According to him, the N1 light on the MCP should not light up when you press the TOGA switch on the throttle quad. If that is really true, then I'm pretty sure I'll be able to use another offset to enable my servos rather than the N1 light offset.
    Just a quick look ... might offset 051C offer the answer?

    Bit 2 TOGA *mode* Active

    Otherwise I can only think of checking the Annunciator modes.

    Regards

    Pete

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That is strange.. If the N1 light does not come on when you press the N1 button... What is the N1 light for?
    Bob Reed

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    That is strange.. If the N1 light does not come on when you press the N1 button... What is the N1 light for?
    The N1 light does come on, but only when you do a flight level change to a higher altitute. This apparently is the correct behaviour for a 737 MCP. According to Jonathan, their software (I assume MCP418 ) was recently certified by some certification authority, so he is pretty sure this is the right behaviour.

    So, I'm just going to have to find another offset for my purpose which is to enable power to the throttle servos when pressing TOGA. And thanks Peter, offset 051C (Bit 2 TOGA *mode* Active) may be the answer I need?

    Maurice

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Boeing 757 or 767 MIP Kit
    By edo17982 in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-08-2010, 10:12 AM
  2. Boeing 737
    By KLM077 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-15-2009, 12:40 PM
  3. Is it Boeing...
    By Michael Carter in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2006, 02:21 AM