Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: New 737 simmer

  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    New 737 simmer

    Just starting, and I know the struggle will be long and hard to get to speed with a lot of you guys.

    As a start, I already have the following softwares, PM, FSUIPC, WIdeFS, Wideview, FSX ( 2 copies - one for the side views).
    As for hardware, I ordered the FDS MCP / Efis combo to start (Supposed to be easy- Plug and play?)
    Already have: 1- InFocus Projector, 3- 19" LCD's, Triplehead2go, 1-17" LCD, 5PC's, Cat-6 cables w/ 5-Gig Nic cards and Gig switch..and have a lot to go ordering hardware..

    I am presently fighting with myself ( and trying to accomodate my wife) as to either going with a real 727 cockpit ( modifying it for a 737NG), or just start from scratch by using Aerodeck Engineering parts..

    I will be asking for help as I go along , since I am not a wiz at a lot of things, like configuring/ calibrating FSUIPC, etc. I have read the document but I am more confused than before..( Hey, at 56, what can you expect?)

    So, without further adieu, I hope to be accepted to the world of real simulation!! Thanks..

    BTW, I am located in the Miami area, so if there are any simmers close to me, let me know!

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    My 2 cents. Yes I have flown a few real shell sims. Yes they are nice...BUT.... You are confined in your building to the actual layout of the shell. NO EXTRA ROOM PERIOD! I have decided that a real shell will never be an option for me. My cockpit is in the open right now and I find it tight corders working on it. I can not imagine what it would be like trying to do this in a real shell. ( I used to work on real AC... NO ROOM!!!!) I do not care what the outside looks like. 2 reasons. My sim will never have motion so I do not have to worry about that and I do not fly it from outside. The inside is the important part! I just think a lot of headaches can be avoided by not using a real shell..... Oh and welcome to the Dark Side.... It never gets better, only worse!!
    Bob Reed

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Welcome to the community. I look forward to seeing pictures of your setup. Post in the gallery often so we can see what your up to. More so, Our community is full of information, please use it as you need it.

    Great to see you.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Welcome to the site. Sounds like quite a project you are starting with all of the aquired hardware.

    That's miles beyond where I am right now.

    Good luck with your 737.

    I'll never have a shell either due to space constraints. Heck, I don't even have room for the entire instrument panel, but I'm satisfied that it will be a decent sim when I get it close enough to fly.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    AS there seems to be a number of new builders here I am reposting this link and "recommend" that you newbies (and some of you oldies ) read this! There is a lot of good information in that thread! And remember fly, fly, fly!!!! If your sim is not flyable, desktop fly! Work on the AC you are going to use in the sim. Learn the systems... BUT!!!!!! FLY!!!!!!!
    Bob Reed

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I still do a fair amount of flying. Since the MIP is the last to be built, I'm still using a 19" monitor for that and the outside view.

    I love to fly this aircraft. It feels like a comfortable pair of jeans or a well broken in pair of boots.

    From a short hop from EHAM to EGPH







    A short sight seeing trip from Edinburgh to Glasgow. Aircraft is the Caronedo(sp) C-206 Stationaire

    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi there,

    Well, my 2 cents if it comes to using a real flightdeck or not would be that if you are in a hurry to start flying the sim, best would be not to go for a real shell, BUT if you are willing to invest a lot of time in first refurbishing the flightdeck and then installing all the components, I would defenitely recommend a real deck.
    If I had to do it again, I would restart with a real deck (I used a retired 707), every time I step into the cockpit and close the door behind me, it does give a special feeling ...
    [

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If only the walls of that 707 could talk, I am sure that they would have a lot to say.

    If I could have a real shell, I would. Just knowing that the item your sim is installed in actually used to fly would do it for me.

    Wish I could have afforded to get one.

    Ah well, I will just have to envy you folks that do.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wow, what a RECEPTION !!!!
    You guys really have made it comfortable for me.
    I truly appreciate your responses and ideas. Glad I found this site.
    Hopefully, many moons from now, I can return the same reception to other "Newbies" ..

    As far as the "real shell or not" , I can sum it up like this : I think like Trevor-The idea that a real shell actually flew sure sounds enticing and it would be a heck of a thrill "flying" it again, but the work needed to refurbish it, well, it puts my spine out of place....The other way, Need lots of $$$...........Money vs. work and time...decisions, decisions....That's for the next Chapter.

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well,

    Keep us posted on your decision.

    I can't wait to see your progress.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. PPG simmer now on board
    By flyingndiving in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 08:19 AM
  2. What do your non-simmer friends say about you ???
    By Nick1150 in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-07-2010, 02:47 AM
  3. Air simmer, anyone tried it?
    By mnovak22 in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2009, 10:05 PM
  4. Longtime Simmer, Freshmen Builder
    By roarmbrust in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-29-2008, 08:06 PM
  5. New Simmer From The Caribbean Island OF St Lucia
    By seristee in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-07-2007, 05:48 PM