Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Attaching Monitors to MIP

    Hey Guys,

    When you use FDS Mip's how do you keep the monitors so close to the mip.

    I Just ordered 3 19" LCD's and am wondering the best way to keep them tight to the MIP.

    Your thoughts?
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mycockpit.org

    It sounds crazy, but take them out of the cases and build a new case around them.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm almost at the point where I have to do that ... and to be honset it scares the heck out of me. Not only could it break the LCDs, it voids the warranty, and produces a voltage hazard too.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I hate doing anything that voids the warranty. But once I've done it... LOOK OUT BELOWWWWwwwwww......

    If you use a good weather strip foam tape from the hardware store around the frames, you will be able to seperate them from each other electrically. Check the resistance with a meter first to make sure it will do. Just carry your meter right into the store.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie PaulEMB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    20 m N of RWY36R LEMD
    Posts
    200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I too shared the trepidation, but went ahead, including 2 brand new 17" monitors - no problems in fitting them, mounted in the MDF MIP support, and foam tape around, plus on the front edges to reduce dust entry.
    In my case leaving the cases on wasn't an option, due to the tight fit on the 145.
    You should find the unit inside very durable, and easy to mount - the only thing to watch for - especially when removing the case, is the connections to the control buttons - this can be a ribbon cable, pushed into connectors - I had a bad moment when one came out, and I pushed it back the wrong way - no monitor, and fresh out the box!, but it was soon fixed.
    Give it a try!
    Paul

    Project ERJ 145
    www.erj145sim.net

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    OOOoooo Ouch.

    I knew that most of you guys removed them from the case, but ouch, warranty void. Well I guess thats just the risk of simming. The LCD's I selected are comming with removable bases, I thought that might be enough, apparently not.

    how are you holding them tight to the MIP. Double sticky foam tape then?

    Literally taping them to the mip?
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You could use right-angle brackets attached to the MIP frame, this worked well for me.

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s....php?photo=494

    Greg

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nice Idea... That may work.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie PaulEMB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    20 m N of RWY36R LEMD
    Posts
    200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile

    I got out of the problem by making a deep MDF base, and "backing" panel for the MIP. The depth of the MDF is close to the monitor depth, so I fixed using small MDF brackets screwed to the backer.

    Having a shell helps here, rather than making life difficult as usual, so I had something to fix to.

    FDS has some smart monitor mounts available, but most monitors have captive nuts in the back, so you can attach with small setscrews to an angle bracket.

    Pics of my setup are on the site on the MIP Support page.

    I hope it gives you some ideas -
    Paul

    Project ERJ 145
    www.erj145sim.net

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Fantastic Pictures.

    Thanks that is exactly what I was looking to see.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Attaching a Clipboard to a Saitek Yoke
    By digirati in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 05:07 PM
  2. More monitors
    By roblockett in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-2009, 09:10 PM
  3. Monitors
    By Petex1 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-28-2007, 03:59 PM
  4. Attaching LCD screen to mip
    By paulj in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-24-2007, 04:26 AM
  5. Attaching Monitors to MIP
    By Trevor Hale in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-02-2007, 10:53 PM