Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Engine start sequence - Airbus

    Hi guys I'm having problems with the auto start sequence with the Airbus. While starting an engine everything looks like it's going well then all of a sudden the N1 and N2 shoot up to like 80% and 90% then spool back down to idle. I've tried adding the engine start parameters to the Aircraft Config file but it still shoots up everytime. Has anybody got any ideas how to make the start sequence more realistic?

    Thanks

    Ben

  2. #2
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Ben, Download the following check list. That should be of help:
    http://mycockpit.org/forums/downloads.php?do=file&id=10

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Matt, thanks - that's exactly what I'm doing. The spool rates just seem way to high! - I'm sure the engines should not reach over 80%N1 while starting. I wonder what the problem could be.

  4. #4
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I misread your statement.... I need to quit speed reading

    What aircraft file are you using, I would think it has something the settings in the file. I know all Turbines spool up quite a bit on startup, I guess I never noticed how much.

    Perhaps others can comment or move this post to the Dodianos Aribus... he would know

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well in the 737 I noticed they spool up pretty high before settling down to idle. But I have never paid attention to how high. Will be in the sim in a bit will see what it does.
    Bob Reed

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bob.... Please tell me what business your in, because I would like to have work hours like yours... LOL
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well Trevor I am self employed. And if you want the hours I have been working you can have them. Because they also mean no pay check! So there are disadvantages to my schedule!
    Bob Reed

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I know, I was just buggin you....
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The other side of no paycheck..... Wife says no $$ for sim stuff! That hardly seems fair! So I am just taking care of all the stuff that needs doing around the house with crossed fingers I will get my allowance this week so I can order a few things... You know, just the bare essentials... What do you mean I don't "need" that projector??!!!
    Bob Reed

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cheers guys, I'm using the Overland A320 aircraft with the Pedro merge from AVSIM - it is extremly stable and basically dead on the numbers. I'll ask over in Dodiano's bus forum for more info. I'm sure I read somewhere you could adapt the way the engines start in PMSYS somehow though.
    Regards,
    Ben Hewitt
    AirBus Driver

Similar Threads

  1. fsx 737-800 engine start
    By UKV1342 in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 10 (FSX)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 05:17 AM
  2. Correct Jaguar engine start sequence
    By bapilot54 in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2008, 03:46 PM
  3. Correct engine startup sequence
    By bapilot54 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-17-2008, 03:51 PM
  4. Boeing start sequence
    By PaulEMB in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-11-2007, 03:07 PM
  5. engine start sequence
    By Pete in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 07:27 AM