Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Real Atis

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Real Atis

    I am looking at getting real atis for Fs9 & was wondering if it is worth getting. The only positive i see about the program is that the range of the atis is unlimited which helps you prepare your approach.

    Anyone using this program?


    Thanks
    Michael
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - FSX - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN -

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    304
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Michael,

    Did you finally purchase this software (Real ATIS)?

    If so, has it proven to be good/usefull?

    Thanks!
    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I use it. The main reason to have it IS the increased range. It is nice getting the weather and active runway info while enroute so you can prepare for landing or a possible alternate.

    The weather reports can be a bit more detailed than the default ones too.....with stuff like bird warnings, winds at specific altitudes, runways surface conditions, and so on.

    My biggest peeve is that the pronunciation of the American English for the word "Wind" sounds like "Whine " + "Duh" instead of "Win" + "Duh". The British English pronounces "Wind" perfectly.

    best,

    ...................john

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    304
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for your reply John.

    One more question, does it really provide ATIS at airports where ATIS does not exist in FS?

    And another one: I assume the ATIS are given based on weather currently loaded in FS. So if flying online (IVAO, for example) the ATIS reports match the corresponding airport's METAR?

    THX
    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Luis,

    Yes, on both counts.

    One "limitation" is that if an airport already has ATIS service by default in the sim, the RealATIS program has to assign a slightly different frequency for the newly added ATIS. It automatically defaults to 0.10 MHz higher than the "published" frequency. If an airport does not already have ATIS normally in the sim....... you can use whatever frequency you wish.

    best,

    ................john

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    No i didn't end up getting the programe as i do 90% of my flying on line now.



    Michael
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - FSX - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN -

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    304
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you all for your replies.
    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

Similar Threads

  1. TrueSky : import real traffic into FSX in real time
    By caKus in forum MSFS ADD-ONs General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2011, 03:06 AM
  2. Real VSI+$40+1hour=Working real gauge!
    By 737NUT in forum Interfacing Real Aviation Parts
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-11-2010, 12:35 PM
  3. Is there a way to erase / mute the standard ATIS?
    By Geremy Britton in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-19-2009, 01:08 AM
  4. iPhone ATIS, TAF, etc...
    By Michael Carter in forum MyCockpit Crew Rest (Off topic chat forum)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2008, 12:55 PM