Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: live ATC

  1. #1
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    live ATC

    Hey folks! Well I made my first flight on the VATSIM network last night with real ATC. I must say, there is nothing like it! Yes I was VERY busy in the cockpit as there was only me but WOW! Even when my MCP would not let me lower the altitude (which made me even more busy) I was having a blast. I flew into kO AK. There was ATC from start up to landing. (I did not land flight took a lot longer then I thought more on that in a minute) Taxi, takeoff and CRZ was pretty uneventful. I came into Oakland center and that is where it all changed. There where 35-45 aircraft waiting to land at KOAK!! WOW!! I did my first hold with my CDU! ATC where vectoring us around, changing are speeds we even had a slight fuel emergency while we all waited! ( not my aircraft) I was in a 20 minute hold and I could wait no longer I had to disconnect but all I can say is it was AWESOME! If you have not tried it, swallow that lump in your throat , I know I had to, and give it a try! you will not be sorry!
    Bob Reed

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member James Twomey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Port Orchard Wa, U.S.
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bob,

    That sounds great! What prompted you to try live ATC? I have been thinking about trying it some time however, I don’t know how proficient you have to be to use live ATC.

    Regards
    James

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well done Bob!, I can't fly without VATSIM anymore - anything less just isn't good enough, there's nothing like knowing the controller you are talking to is a real person! I'm just finishing a longhaul now EGKK-CYVR for the Vancouver fly-in. It looks like it could get busy on approach!

    James don't worry, everybody starts out not knowing what to do but you soon get the hang of it - it's a blast you should try it.

    Ben

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well the truth..... I am flying WorldFlight this year and they fly on line! I have thought about it for a long while too. The truth is I have always been to afraid to try it. I am not proficient at all yet! In fact I had a friend on line with me which helped tremendously! It was not as bad as I had envisioned. It adds so much to the flight! My biggest problem is trying to remember what they tell you! I will spend a little more time logging into a busy location and just listen to the radio traffic... That helps some.
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member James Twomey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Port Orchard Wa, U.S.
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bob,

    I understand you right in your saying that you can log on and just listen to a busy site? I think that would be a great way to easily break into the VATSIM world.

    Regards,
    James

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well it will help... BUT... The only way to get into it is jump in! I would have waited a long time had I not been pushed. It is a little intimidating at first...
    Bob Reed

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mycockpit.org

    I recall the first time my Flight Instructor looked at me and said, 'Ok, you handle the radios now'.

    I thought the Controller was going to come slap me!
    When you are on VATSIM just like in real life, let them know you are a student pilot. Maybe you now how to fly, but you are still a student for ATC...

    'Honolulu Approach, Cessna 727 Echo Mike, Student Pilot with Lima is requesting entrance to the Bravo airspace for a full stop landing. Requesting runway 4 right.'
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Trust me... NEWBIE is predominate in my remarks!!
    Bob Reed

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I remember my first Vatsim flight, I am the same as Ben. Unless I am testing functionality of the sim, I can't do any flights offline. I am concerned though, as I was proficient with the PSS Airbus. Now I have switched to PM Boeing software. That hold your talking about on the CDU Bob.. That will generate a new lump in my throat.

    Glad you did it and Congrats Buddy.

    Can't wait until my sim is able to do my first flight, all over again.

    I have never done a transatlantic flight on Vatsim. My first online flight in the sim will be Transatlantic.

    Maybe in a few months......
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Trevor keep me posted on that as I will need to do trasatlantic as well. I would not mind flying it with you. And maybe i can get Greg to do it with us. He has spreiance at it!
    Bob Reed

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. LIVE Radar
    By PascalHaldenstein in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-10-2008, 07:10 PM
  2. Live ATC
    By QF6228 in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-14-2008, 04:31 AM
  3. Live from CES 2008
    By Deesystems in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-2008, 10:25 AM
  4. Cockpitsonic TQ + FDC Live
    By dvamv in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2008, 01:43 AM
  5. I wish I would live in USA near Denton ...
    By Norbert-EDDV in forum MyCockpit Crew Rest (Off topic chat forum)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-18-2007, 10:27 AM