Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RJ Software

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    RJ Software

    Hi All,

    My name is Jon and I am undertaking the impossible task of building a fully functioning Embraer 170/190 flight deck.
    If anyone has experience with te RJ software and/or mateing it with the Boeing CDU/MCP I would be very anxious to here from you.

    Jon

  2. #2
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Jon, Welcome aboard

    "impossible task" Nahhhhhh, that's not in our vocabulary. Besides, you've got plenty of help here

    Look forward to seeing your progress...

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    VHHH
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    For 170/190, you can use the RJ ware for PDF and ND. Superb! But nothing much about the system at the moment "yet". PM state will do, but give no time line. Once they are ready. Your "Impossible is Nothing".

    To remind you, PMRJ is base on a different version of Honeywell Primus from 170/190. The 170/190 has a newer one and seems more integrated. They are similar and they are quite different as well.

    Cheers!
    Alkit (user of RJ)

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The RJ software works fine with the Boeing MCP and CDU. Nothing you have to do but set it up and run the software. Are you going to use a hardware MCP? Would be easy to only implement what the RJ actually has. Keep me posted and I can help with the integration as I have run the RJ, CDU and MCP all together.
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Alkit - your reputation proceeds you. I thought you were a 747 guy or are you selling all that stuff to fly a real plane?

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    hehehehe Woops!!!!
    Bob Reed

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bob,

    I am going COMPLETELY with FDS 170 panels including the MCP etc. Anything they can't provide will have to come from Honeywell, Embraer or the airlines flying the 170/190. I have contacts out to all of them. I have stayed away from CAE (even though I am a stock holder) because the big boys do not like to help us little guys.
    You may think Honeywell? Embraer? Well these few pieces that can't be bought anywhere else. A complete flight training device for an RJ is USD 3M and a FFS is between 7.5M and 10M. If I have to spend a few thousand on real parts then so be it.
    The reason I went with the 170 was the simpler MIP layout - very few buttons. And I can upgrade the model to the 195 series anytime and steal some 737 business

    Jon

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    VHHH
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    One day I realize my 747 will never fly. Converting those analog spend lot of energy and money. Some of them are impossible to convert all function. System simulation will never happen as they are all on the FE station which I don't plan to build. I would now build a simple trainer type with some LCDs and focus on flying. So does real flying.

    ERJ is a good choice, much simpler than any Boeing fleet. More system integration, which mean more software design with less hardware work. And the cockpit is very comfortable

Similar Threads

  1. What Software For TQ ?
    By davemckee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-12-2011, 04:09 PM
  2. 737 software
    By bigbore in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-12-2010, 11:03 AM
  3. 787 Software
    By Lewis Simmons in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-2008, 01:55 AM
  4. What Software??
    By droddis in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2007, 08:51 AM
  5. The Software is Here !! :)
    By phidgets in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-29-2004, 10:37 AM