Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Hans Krohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The ghost in the machine...

    Hi all,

    last night I was shooting some approaches in Gander to check out the new autoland features of the PM suite. The first two landings went ok, but on final approach for the third landing Gremlins started to tore into the guts of my simulator.

    With other words, weired things started to happen for absolutely no reason I can think of:

    2 minutes from touchdown I suddenly observed data corruption on the PFD! Right on top of the PDF's artificial horizon GS, TAS and windspeed / -direction info appeared. It was a copy of the numbers that are displayed in the upper left corner of the NAV display.

    I did not want to interrupt the approach, so I did nothing. Some seconds later the PFD went blank. Basically all flight information and the art. horizon were lost and only the frame of the instrument remained.

    A restart of the PDF did not remedy the problem. What did was to use the F keys to set some other display mode, for examle with PDF and NAV on the same screen. I could then zoom in on the PDF and it worked normally for a while. But then it blanked out again!

    Anybody has observed similar behaviour?

    The only change I recently did to my PFD was to get the analogue clock displayed left of the PFD. That clock btw it now totally gone, since the first display blanking incident. I have not been able to get it to display again.

    Looks like the ghost in the machine is raising it's ugly head again...

    Regards and a good weekend to you all,
    Hans

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member PeterH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    EDDM
    Posts
    143
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Hans,

    it seems something has corrupted your PDF ini file.

    The clock you can set in the pdf ini " ShowChrono=On".
    Myself, I had trouble sometimes and therefor Iīve setup all and when things were right up and runnuing well I then closed the PDF and set the file attributes of the pdf.ini and the pdfset to read only.
    And - not to forget - make a backup just in case!!

    Sofar didnīt have too much trouble anymore.

    Best rgds

    Peter

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    184
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    me too had observed strange things, one time during an approach my displays appeared like a duplicate items scrolling on top of the existing ones...
    I had observed this on the latest build.

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hmmm thhis is strange. Please report this information to support@projectmagenta.com They need to know about it!
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member Hans Krohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    done!

    Let's see if Enrico has an explanation / solution...

    Hans

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    VHHH
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Hans,

    You know what, this issue happened on "real" 744 during an approach to Heathrow. The crew go around and everything get back online after some seconds.

    Same incident recently happen on real Airbus fleet.

    Anyway, did you try with the new beta 387c?

    Alkit

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member Hans Krohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi all,

    I found the solution, with the kind help of Thomas Richter:

    The problem was a faulty cdutype.ini file. I had toyed around with that file some time ago because my flaps gauge did not show correct values. In that process, I tried out several 737400 files from the PM website.

    What I found out now was that my cdutype file did not contain values for the 40 deg. flaps setting. Please don't ask why! But this was the reason why at the moment of engaging 40 deg. flaps my pfd went nuts (or just blank). Here is what I did:

    - I copied the content of the original 737400.txt to cdutype.ini
    - with the cdu running, I reset the model to the first 737400 in the list.

    Now everything is back to normal. The pfd does not dissapear anymore at flaps 40, and as an added benefit the flaps gauge now finally shows correct readings for all flaps positions.

    Just wanted to share this with you!

    Take care, and smooth landings...

    Hans

Similar Threads

  1. Expansion card buggy? Shows "ghost" inputs where there aren't...
    By Michael737NG in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-26-2010, 06:02 AM
  2. New CNC Machine
    By mondo50m in forum CNC Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-07-2010, 02:16 AM
  3. What do you think of this CNC machine?
    By twisted8 in forum CNC Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-27-2010, 02:15 PM
  4. Ghost Phidget Card?
    By oal331 in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 04:33 PM
  5. give up the ghost/ fs9
    By Mr. Midnight in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-21-2009, 08:08 AM