Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Need some help assigning a control

    I have a TextLCD unit that of course includes an 8/8/8 interface with it. As a test, I ordered one of the rotary packaged sensors that will plug into the analog inputs. I have added it to the 8/8/8 and it is seen in the FS2Phidget software. When I turn it, I see the value change from 1 to 1000.

    I want this rotary to act as the control for the barometric pressure (correction) setting in the sim. It is now mounted on the top left of the EFIS panel on my glareshield.

    My problem is that I cannot seem to figure out HOW to get it to work. Which offsets should I be using? Is the "stock" Kollsman setting variable that comes default with the FS2Phidget program the place to go? I am wanting it to control things in the US units...... like 29.92 in. Hg. and such. I can't seem to figure this out. I've looked in the FSUIPC offset list... and which one of many possibilities I should use is confusing.

    Can someone point me in the right direction? Thanks


    best,

    ...........john

  2. #2
    alandyer
    Guest
    John,

    In the FS2Phidgets FS Editor create a SET_KOHLSMAN variable. (you can name variable anything you want:

    Use following values:

    Offset: 0330
    Size: 2
    Type: (Proportional) range of values
    Lo Value: 15168
    High Value: 17344
    Multiplier: 1
    Divisor: 1

    Save settings

    Assign this variable to your analog sensor.

    You may have to Calibrate the sensitivity.

    I obtained the high and low values by observing Raw Value in FS Editor and manipulating the kohlsman knob in Microsoft Flight Simulator.

    Regards,
    Alan.

  3. #3
    alandyer
    Guest
    Your FS variable INI file will have an entry that looks like following after you save:
    Of course, you could also copy and paste following into appropriate ini file.

    [SET_KOHLSMAN]
    Offset=0330
    Length=2
    Format=########
    Multiplier=1
    Divisor=1
    Integer=False
    WriteOnly=False
    FSType=Proportional
    LoValue=15168
    HiValue=17344

Similar Threads

  1. Assigning axes in FSUIPC
    By Geremy Britton in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-26-2007, 12:26 PM
  2. Re-Assigning FSPlans
    By Tim in forum PM and FS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-25-2007, 08:26 AM
  3. Sound assigning issue
    By lineman55 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2005, 05:19 AM
  4. Assigning sounds
    By janpedersen in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2004, 01:24 AM
  5. Assigning sounds
    By janpedersen in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-31-2004, 10:24 AM